Anthony’s Desert Island Films

desert island

Anthony from 262pages has kindly submitted his Desert Island Films. Read on for his choices and reasons, and be sure to check out his site.

*************************************************************************************************

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

*************************************************************************************************

Anthony’s Desert Island Films

psycho

1. Psycho with Anthony Perkins. Classic movie that is inspiring for me to watch.

halloween

2. John Carpenter’s Halloween. My wife and I watch this every Halloween. Classic slasher movie.

nightmare_on_elm_street

3. Wes Craven’s A Nightmare on Elm Street. Freddy is the ultimate villain – die in your sleep die in the real world. How scary is that?

batman

4. Batman Begins. Of all the Nolan movies this is still the one for me. It not only got me into Batman, but the world of comic books as well. A beautiful, glorious movie that never seems to get old no matter how many times I watch it.

chinatown

5. Chinatown. A classic film noir with a great cast, great story, and great directing. One of my favorite last lines.

ghostbusters

6. Ghostbusters. I have loved this one since I was a kid. I would need this one.

empire strikes back

7. This was between an Indiana Jones movie or a Star Wars movie. I think I would go with The Empire Strikes Back for this one. I just don’t think I could live without one Star Wars movie on that island.

army of darkness

8. Army of Darkness. I would miss seeing Bruce Campbell do his thing and be all that Bruce can be. I would need this one just to get in my Bruce fix. When you need cool, you go to Bruce. The best thing since sliced bread. Wait, didn’t Bruce invent sliced bread? “Hail to the king baby.”

IT

Book – It by Stephen King. King got me writing so I would need a book by him there. This has to be my favorite.

Luxury Item – my running shoes, providing I could take my socks, wouldn’t need clothes, or my GPS watch. Just enough space to run and water, lots of fresh water.

*************************************************************************************************

Thanks again to Anthony for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice ”castaway” list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to this list, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

*************************************************************************************************

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Thanks again for doing this Anthony! Great list, and love your book choice. Currently reading 11.22.63 by King, loving it so far.

    Like

    Reply
  2. atothewr

     /  August 12, 2012

    Thanks again for doing the write up – looks good.

    Like

    Reply
  3. atothewr

     /  August 12, 2012

    Reblogged this on "Forget it Jake, it's atothewr.com." and commented:
    Check out my 8 desert island films. If anyone out there reading this wants to participate. Swing over to Head in a Vice to fill out your list.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Excellent movie choices and absolutely great book choice! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  5. Very nice list! I’m a big fan of Psycho and Chinatown 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  6. Victor De Leon

     /  August 14, 2012

    great list! Halloween, Ghostbusters and Empire Strikes Back? …that is a bad ass trifecta.

    Like

    Reply
  1. Poetry Street | Poem and Haiku

Leave a Reply

  • RECENT POSTS :

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Daily Top 10 Most Viewed

  • Every Movie Reviewed A-Z

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Most Used Tags

  • Random Cool Sites

  • Meta