Wednesday’s Child’s Desert Island Films

desert island

Wednesday’s Child from Deep Red Rum has kindly submitted her Desert Island Films. Read on for her choices and reasons, and be sure to check out her site.

*************************************************************************************************

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

*************************************************************************************************

Wednesday’s Child’s Desert Island Films

I’m imagining that I’m not going to be on the island forever, so my explanations for liking the movies I bring will be in the vein of why I like them/how they will help me re-enter society.

ghostbusters

Ghostbusters – This is my favorite comedy. I don’t want to lose my smartass sense of humor while I’m gone.

The Darjeeling Limited

The Darjeeling Limited – For some reason, every time I watch this one, I never want that train ride to end. I just get lulled into feeling like I’m on the journey too. Also, it’s a story of regaining hope.

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind – This movie represents my marriage. It’s a love story about two dorks that are fated to be together, like us. It will help me not to be so lonely.

The Big Lebowski

The Big Lebowski – This movie is just as fresh every time I see it as it was when I first saw it in ’98, and my feelings on what I’m ultimately supposed to get out of it keep changing. I seriously don’t go a day without referencing it either in my mind or out loud.

Harold and Maude

Harold and Maude – Obviously this movie is the ultimate optimist’s story, and it’s about rebirth in a way. It has the greatest soundtrack of any movie, ever. Also, Maude was still having a great life at 79, so there’ll be hope for me no matter how long it takes to get home.

Phantasm

Phantasm– This is a comfort movie for me. I know, it sounds weird to be comforted by a 70s drive-in movie, but it’s a coming-of-age story as well as a horror movie. There’s something about the interaction between the characters that reminds me of my small town adolescence and its trials and tribulations. That is, metaphorically speaking, of course.

Nashville

Nashville – This is another one that you can just analyze the crap out of every time you see it and your opinion will keep changing. It will keep my mind occupied more than the others on the list. The only thing I’m sure about is that it’s a “how not to act” story that could apply to any subset of society but that happens to focus on the country music industry. I’ll need some lessons on how not to act since I’ll be out of practice at dealing with people. I love Nashville the city too, so I’ll be looking forward to a trip there once I get back.

Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives

Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives – Speaking of movies that require analysis, oh boy does this ever fit that category. Between this and Nashville I won’t be able to be bored. One thing it makes perfectly clear is that a contemplative rural lifestyle is preferable to an autopilot, plastic life in the city, so that will be helpful, since if I internalize that I won’t be so anxious until I’m rescued.

illuminatus trilogy

Book – A copy of Robert Anton Wilson and Robert Shea’s Illuminatus! Trilogy. I just really like opening that book anywhere and starting to read. It’s so trippy that it never gets boring. Maybe I’ll finally finish it.

Luxury Item – I’m going to bring a DVD projector (will weave the screen out of palm leaves, which gives me something to do)

*************************************************************************************************

Thanks again to Wednesday’s Child for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice ”castaway” list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to this list, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

*************************************************************************************************

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I used to hate The Big Lebowski, but it’s really grown on me. Some great choices. I think every desert island needs some Ghostbusters.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Excellent choices and excellent reasoning! I also love that you’re weaving a screen out of palm leaves – very constructive!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Thanks again for doing this Wednesday, great list, very unique! Big Lebowski is (rightly so!) proving a popular pick!

    Like

    Reply
  4. atothewr

     /  August 12, 2012

    Phantasm would be another great one to have.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Great choices, especially The Big Lebowski and Darjeeling!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Wow! Very interesting picks. I hated, hated, hated “The Darjeeling Limited” and I was shocked to have read that you didn’t want the train ride to end; I wanted to jump out of it. I am, however, willing to give it onnnnnne more chance. Or maybe it’s because Anderson’s style is a hit-or-miss for me.

    Another surprise is “Phantasm.” I haven’t seen “Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives” yet but I am excited about it. It seems to polarize people.

    Cheers to “Harold and Maude.” That movie really moved me.

    Like

    Reply
  1. Eight movies for a desert island « Deep Red Rum

Leave a Reply

  • RECENT POSTS :

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Daily Top 10 Most Viewed

  • Every Movie Reviewed A-Z

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Most Used Tags

  • Random Cool Sites

  • Meta