Claratsi’s Desert Island Films

desert island

Claratsi from ClaratsiMovieBlog has kindly submitted his Desert Island Films. Read on for his choices and reasons, and be sure to check out his site.

*************************************************************************************************

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

*************************************************************************************************

Claratsi’s Desert Island Films

Here’s my list of Desert Island Films, some are from my own personal top ten and some for sheer fun.

Thanks Tyson for this fantastic community idea, I had a lot of fun thinking about these choices – grrrrrrreat!!!

jaws1. Jaws: First off, I noticed in AndyWatchesmovies choice he didn’t have Jaws on there because well, who would want a shark about on an Island? Sound logic no doubt. I have probably seen this movie more than any, apart from Predator perhaps, so with boredom a potential issue I would need to rely on something I know I would not get bored of. In the case of Jaws if I was going to get bored of it, I would have by now; and that shark was only rubber anyway – wasn’t it?

2. Predator: exactly the same reason, I must have watched this film more than 100 times!

predator

lord of the rings3. Lord of the Rings (Trilogy): nine hours+ entertainment, not including the extended editions, but if I had to pick one, it would be fellowship – the ultimate road movie!

(Tyson – You do only get to pick one, trilogy is cheating) 🙂

No worries, I have stated fellowship in there mate, so will go with that.

4. It’s a wonderful life: The quintessential choice for Christmas day afternoon viewing on my island. After chewing through my freshly caught grilled tropical fish, which doubles as my alternative Christmas dinner, I could settle down to my traditional Christmas movie – a bit of normality to remind me of home.

its a wonderful life

5. Castaway: so I could have a kindred spirit to share in my isolation and I could watch it for tips on how to get off as I assume I would not have a volleyball to keep me company.

castaway

6. Rocky 4: another choice for sheer re-watchability. Those montages, (“even rocky had a montage”) the fight –pure awesome cheesiness!

rocky 4

7. Anchorman: The comedy choice, I could spend all day quoting this movie to myself and I never get tired of those one-liners no matter how many times I have heard them.

anchorman

8. The Assassination of Jesse James…: Anyone familiar with my blog will know my love for this film; another personal top ten choice, but I never tire of this movie, even when there is seemingly nothing going on in it. It has a priceless, peaceful and beautiful quality to it that no recent film has and will be a nice companion piece for tranquil evenings on my own little island.

The Assassination of Jesse James

My book: The Lord of the Rings, endlessly re-readable, very long and I could spend many hours debating to myself the pros and cons of both the movies and the book.

lord of the rings book

My object: Pens/pencils and Paper. Can I have this one Tyson? I would have countless hours to spare, why not get creative with all that time. I may even get to thinking of an idea as good as this one and have plenty of content for my blog on my return, because I am going to escape. Aren’t I?

(Tyson – You get one item, pens would be one, paper another etc. Do you want to choose any of them?)

No. My object would be sun lounger then please, my comfort is paramount 🙂

sun lounger

(Tyson – I will neither confirm nor deny this ‘escape’ theory) 🙂

*************************************************************************************************

Thanks again to Claratsi for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice ”castaway” list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to this list, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

*************************************************************************************************

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Thanks again for doing this buddy, and my apologies for being strict with the rules, but I have to enforce them otherwise there would be anarchy on the island 🙂

    I still haven’t seen ‘The Assassination of Jesse James’, I own it so have no excuse and must rectify this immediately! Nice choices!

    Like

    Reply
  2. How did I know Jesse James would feature in there man? 😉
    I also thought about choosing Castaway but for my inanimate object I chose a ball just like Wilson instead. Great minds Kevin eh?

    Like

    Reply
    • Woah Mark, spoiler alerts for your list 🙂 Will get that up soon by the way, had so many to get through, been brilliant reaction to this project.

      I nearly chose Castaway myself to see if I could re-enact it shot for shot!

      Like

      Reply
    • Yeh D’ya watch jesse yet mark? Whenever I think islands I think wilson 🙂 never seen a volleyball out act hanks before!

      Like

      Reply
    • Great minds indeed sir. Jesse? of course, you know me well 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. Nice choices. So not fair, paper and pens aren’t one item! ;-p

    Like

    Reply
  4. Reblogged this on ClaratsiMovieBlog and commented:
    Check out my Desert Island Films at Headinavice.com. A genius, cunning idea for movie bloggers to share their castaway choices. While you’re there why not take the time to check out Tyson’s fantastic blog!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Hehe, great post and nice picks! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  6. How dare you defy me by picking Jaws!!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Victor De Leon

     /  August 14, 2012

    Jaws! nuff said.

    Like

    Reply
  8. atothewr

     /  August 15, 2012

    Rocky IV – one of the greatest montage films of all time. Love the score to that movie. I could run for years listening to that music.

    Like

    Reply
  9. I’ll change my answer to lawn chair if it comes with the decorations in the picture.

    I also picked Jaws, so kudos. If I were to bring a Christmas movie, though, it would be Bad Santa.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • RECENT POSTS :

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Daily Top 10 Most Viewed

  • Every Movie Reviewed A-Z

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Most Used Tags

  • Random Cool Sites

  • Meta