Ontopic’s Desert Island Films

desert island

Thomas Priday from Ontopic Reviews has kindly submitted his Desert Island Films. Read on for his choices and reasons, and be sure to check out his site.

*************************************************************************************************

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

*************************************************************************************************

Ontopic’s Desert Island Films

1) Some Like It Hot –
It’s funny, it’s sexy and it’s outrageously smart, Some Like It Hot perfectly mixes semi-hearted gangster sags with barrels of laughs. I’m a huge Marilyn Monroe fan – and this is by far her best feature.

some like it hot

2) The Silence of the Lambs –
The Silence of the Lambs is probably my only beloved horror/intense thriller film. The character of Dr. Hannibal Lecter is revered as one of the most chilling in history. Throughout I found myself trying to dissect the film, but couldn’t because of Lecter’s complexity. I’d take the film because it would serve as a great reminder that life on the island wouldn’t be as bad as this.

silence of the lambs

3) Das Boot –
Perhaps my favorite foreign film, Das Boot serves as a great example of building a relationship with a character. It was shocking when I first watched it, and it still is today…

das boot

4) To Kill a Mockingbird –
I’m an aspiring lawyer – and, if I’m honest, Atticus Finch is probably the best movie representation of myself. The film is both shocking and heart-warming. It features one of my all-time favorite actors in Gregory Peck, It is also adapted from one of my favorite books.

To Kill a Mockingbird

5) On The Waterfront –
On The Waterfront is my favorite Marlon Brando film (bar the Godfather and Apocalypse Now). It is perhaps the most quotable film of the 50s, and it set a platform for movies of a similar nature. We had to study it in our English class, and it was the first old (old) film I ever seen.

on the waterfront

6) The King of Comedy –
Far from my favorite Martin Scorsese and Robert De Niro collaboration, but it’s surprisingly one of their most distinct. The character of Rupert Pumpkin is at least on the level of inhumanness as Travis Bickle – but it is a lot subtler. It didn’t make me laugh, but it definitely made me think.

the king of comedy

7) One Flew Over the Cukoo’s Nest –
Notorious for making Jack crazy, One Flew Over the Cukoo’s Nest is one of cinema’s greatest masterpieces. It is sickeningly funny, but it still hosts a great deal of relevant messages. No other mental-illness related film has touched this masterpiece.

one flew over the cuckoos nest

8) The Elephant Man –
The Elephant Man has always been a touching film. As a child, I had a bit of an interest in historical people – and the story of Joseph Merrick has always fascinated me; not because of his deformities, but because of the amount of peril his life had. Director David Lynch made a truly informative film – about the fickleness of people, especially in uneasy situations.

the elephant man

BOOK
Lolita – Although the subject matter is heavy, the book has and will probably always be my favorite. I particularly loved Nabokov’s use of language in the book; it was almost poetic. I’ve only read it once, but I would like to again – and where better than a deserted island?

lolita book

ITEM
Hair gel – I’d like to remain stylish, even if nobody could see me.

*************************************************************************************************

Thanks again to Thomas Priday for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice ”castaway” list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to this list, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

*************************************************************************************************

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Thanks again Thomas, great list, some really different choices, loving The King of Comedy choice, great film! Wasn’t keen on adding the lolita book cover, google images brought up some strange photos!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Nice answers – full of classics!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Great picks. Gregory Peck’s performance in To Kill A Mockingbird is one of my favorites of all time.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Thomas Priday

     /  August 14, 2012

    Thanks for uploading, Tyson…much appreciated. 🙂

    King of Comedy is a very underrated film.

    Like

    Reply
    • No worries mate, appreciate you doing it. I am going to watch King of Comedy again very soon and post up the review for my De Niro project. People need to see this film 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  5. Hey Tyson, I’ve just sent you an email with my submission. I thought I’d better let you know via a couple of avenues in case I get ‘spammed’ on both systems. LOL 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Haha, I am trying to block you totally but you keep sneaking posts on here! Yeah it’s cool I got your email thanks and have solved why it kept spamming your comments (i’ll explain in my email, stupid askimet!), so from now on you will never be banished to spam on my site!! I’ll be in touch buddy

      Like

      Reply
  6. Great list. Das Boot always makes me feel like I might drown, which probably marks it as an effective film, but I’m not brave enough to imagine watching it while surrounded by the ocean.

    Like

    Reply
  7. atothewr

     /  August 15, 2012

    I tell you what, this could really be an interesting island. Imagine if we made a drive in where we could watch all these great films. Who would want to leave it?

    Like

    Reply
    • Lets make this happen!! I also wish there were still drive-ins, that would be so cool watching a film from your car. Couldn’t hear other idiots grazing popcorn either 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      • atothewr

         /  August 15, 2012

        Where I grew up that’s all we had in town was a drive in. It wasn’t until after I had gone to college that they put in a movie theater. I miss those days watching movies in the car. It was such a great time.

        Like

        Reply
        • I bet. Im really not sure where the nearest one would of been to me in the UK. We don’t really have the weather for it but still someone should bring them back!

          Like

        • atothewr

           /  August 15, 2012

          Believe me, I wish they would. The problem we have in the states is all the big SUVs. A few years back when I saw Cars on a drive in locally – all the big vehicles were blocking our view. It wasn’t like that twenty years ago.

          Like

  8. Great picks there! I also loved the hair gel choice. Ha!

    Like

    Reply
  9. You know, I’ve had the DVD of Das Boot for a few years now, and I still haven’t watched it. I think it’s mainly because it’s 76.4 hours long, or thereabouts. I really do want to watch it, I swear.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • RECENT MOVIE REVIEWS :
  • August 14th

  • April 19th

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Daily Top 10 Most Viewed

  • Every Movie Reviewed A-Z

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Most Used Tags

  • Random Cool Sites

  • Meta