Justin’s Desert Island Films

Justin from Today I Watched A Movie has kindly submitted his Desert Island Films. Read on for his choices and reasons, and be sure to check out his site.

*************************************************************************************************

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

*************************************************************************************************

Justin’s Desert Island Films

1. The Awful Truth

No, you’re thinking of The Ugly Truth, which was awful. I’m talking about 1937’s The Awful Truth, starring Carey Grant and Irene Dunne. I love it so much that I once recreated the main characters using the entire script from the film for one of my college classes.

the awful truth

2. Daddy-O

Okay, fine. I’m stretching the rules a bit. I’d want the Mystery Science Theater 3000 episode where they watched Daddy-O. That counts, right? I’d hate to be on a desert island without any access to the crew of the Satellite of Love!

3. Stranger Than Paradise

I’m sure that not a lot would be happening on the desert island, so having a movie that reminds me that not a lot happens in the city either would be quite comforting.

stranger than paradise

4. Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure

Sure, I saw it so many times a few years back that I can still quote most of it today, but that doesn’t mean I never want to see it again.

bill and ted

5. Duck Soup

You could pretty much switch this out with any other Marx Brothers film (except for Love Happy or Room Service) and I’d be happy. This one is my favorite though, by a very narrow margin.

duck soup

6. 13 Going on 30

Don’t judge me.

13 going on 30

7. Up

Easily the best Pixar movie yet, and one of my favorite animated films. The beautiful South American landscapes might make me jealous though, if my desert island is bland and boring.

up

8. The Harlem Globetrotters on Gilligan’s Island

You know, to remind me that things could always be worse on my island.

Book:

The Complete Works of Saki. Saki is, hands down, my literary hero…and I have the Bugs Bunny cartoon Baseball Bugs to thank for introducing him to me.

saki

Luxury item:

I’m sure a pot or pan to cook in would be nice to have. Or a solar-powered air conditioner. A fishing pole? I think I’m being too practical with my choices here. I know! I’d pick my 13″ Lost in Space robot replica…so I’d have someone to talk to.

*************************************************************************************************

Thanks again to Justin for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice ”castaway” list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to this list, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

*************************************************************************************************

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Thanks again for doing this Justin, appreciate you joining in with my project 🙂 Again, nice to see some different choices!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Great choices, especialy in the luxury item category!

    Like

    Reply
  3. kloipy

     /  August 20, 2012

    anyone who adds MST3K to their list is awesome by my standards. I would have chosen The Screaming Skull or Mitchell for my misty movie

    Like

    Reply
    • todayiwatchedamovie

       /  August 28, 2012

      I just can’t get enough of the Hike Your Pants song

      Like

      Reply
      • kloipy

         /  August 29, 2012

        I would also have to add the MST3K treatment of The Final Sacrifice. For one reason only
        ROWSDOWER!

        Like

        Reply
  4. *quietly judges you for picking 13 Going On 30*

    Like

    Reply
  5. Nice choices!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Nice quirky list. Good to see another Saki fan. One of my favourite short story writers.

    Like

    Reply
  1. There are a million little strings attached to my decision to review Synecdoche New York « Today I Watched a Movie

Leave a Reply

  • RECENT MOVIE REVIEWS :
  • August 14th

  • April 19th

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Daily Top 10 Most Viewed

  • Every Movie Reviewed A-Z

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Most Used Tags

  • Random Cool Sites

  • Meta