Cinema Trains Desert Island Films

Garrett from Cinema Train has kindly submitted his Desert Island Films. Read on for his choices and reasons, and be sure to check out his site.

*************************************************************************************************

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

*************************************************************************************************

Cinema Trains Desert Island Films

1) No Country for Old Men
I can’t get enough of this movie, so it stands to reason that it’d be my first film to take. It’s my favorite movie and in my opinion, a near-perfect film. The way it captures its story with no music and minimal dialogue really intensifies the suspense and makes Javier Bardem seem even more menacing. This movie really captivates me.

no-country-for-old-men2) Bill Cunningham, New York
My next pick is Bill Cunningham. It is the only documentary on this list and it’s about an old man who wanders the streets of New York taking pictures of people with interesting clothes. It’s been his job for decades and even as he nears the last years of his life, there’s nothing else he’d rather be doing. This is a warm, inspiring, and life-affirming movie that would be perfect for a depressed cast away.

bill cunningham3) The Descendants
This is an incredible movie. It flawlessly depicts the awkward moments that we can find ourselves in as well as the joy and pain we can bring on our families. It was one of my favorite movies of last year and I would want it on my island with me.

The Descendants4) The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly
An epic Western and a classic that I really love. It’s a wonderful movie to just get lost in.

The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly5) The Godfather
I struggled a little with which Coppola masterpiece to select: Apocalypse Now, The Conversation, or The Godfather? Watching The Godfather, for me, is like entering another world. Each time I see the film, I forget exactly when certain events take place, so it’s a wonderful movie for me to revisit and become more familiar with.

6) The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie
This is probably an odd pick for a Desert Island Films list, but I honestly love this movie and I am really entertained by it. There are so many interesting scenes and I laugh every time. This is satire and surrealism at their best.

le_charme7) Playtime
This isn’t exactly one of my favorite movies, but I have a feeling that I could come to love it more upon multiple visits. There’s very little dialogue in the film, but visually, it is very impressive. The filmmakers built a small city just for this film. I’d want to revisit this movie on the island.

playtime8) The Empire Strikes Back
It’s hard to pick which of the original Star Wars trilogy is my favorite, but since this one has the classic “Luke, I am your father” scene, I thought this should be my last choice. I considered several other movies for this spot. Donnie Darko, The Lady Eve, The Social Network, Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives, Chinatown, and The Shining were contenders. But because my memories with the Star Wars movies go back the furthest, I had to select one of Lucas’ classics.

empire strikes backMy favorite book about movies and one of my favorite books period is The Great Movies by Roger Ebert. There’s also a Great Movies II and III, but the first is the one that I tend to reread the most. Ebert’s essays are as great as the films he writes about and reading them is the next best thing to actually watching them. With this book, I could recall additional movies I love as well.

As for the novelty item, I’d take I’d take my two-room camping tent. It could give me shelter in bad weather, block the sun on a hot day, and keep out mosquitos. It’d also give me a safe place to store my movies.

*************************************************************************************************

Thanks again to Garrett for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice ”castaway” list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to this list, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

*************************************************************************************************

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Thanks again for doing this Garrett! Hope the images are ok, some nice obscure choices! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. atothewr

     /  August 21, 2012

    Number 4 is a solid choice – one of the best westerns ever made.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Reblogged this on Cinema Train.

    Like

    Reply
  4. I completely agree with choices like The Godfather, No Country For Old Men, The Empire Strikes Back, and The Descendants. The Great Movies is one of my favorite film books as well.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Great picks! I didn’t expect to see BCNY in a “desert island films” list but I like the fact that he chose it.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Wow, the only movie I’ve seen here was #8. I need to add a few movies to my list!

    Like

    Reply
    • You haven’t seen The Godfather?? I thought you not liking Drive was the un-coolest thing I have ever heard, but now this blasphemy is close to pushing me over the edge.. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      • Hehehe, I am the world’s worst film geek. 😉 I think my film geekery is just more…focused on the obscure and different. I’m cool though, really! ;-p

        Like

        Reply
  7. I know what you mean about The Godfather. Brilliant description. Some great choices. Want to check out Bill Cunningham.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • RECENT MOVIE REVIEWS :
  • August 14th

  • April 19th

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Daily Top 10 Most Viewed

  • Every Movie Reviewed A-Z

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Most Used Tags

  • Random Cool Sites

  • Meta