I Love Celluloid’s Desert Island Films

desert island

 

Kieran from I Love Celluloid has kindly submitted his Desert Island Films. Read on for his choices and reasons, and be sure to check out his site.

*************************************************************************************************

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

*************************************************************************************************

I Love Celluloid’s Desert Island Films

pulp fiction#1 – Pulp Fiction
This was the hardest list I’ve ever had to make and I’ve left out so many great movies. I tried to get a movie for different moods and not necessarily my top 8 favourite films. My first choice though is my all time favourite. I’d take this simply because it’s my favourite movie of all time (if I had to choose). This is just perfection to me. I love the engrossing dialogue about nothing in particular, the performances of the amazing cast, the soundtrack, how everything comes together… I just love everything about it. This is one of those movies that’s not just a film – it’s a part of me. I can’t order a Big Mac without quoting Pulp.

varsity blues#2 – Varsity Blues
This has a lot of sentimental value. I’d need to take this. No one rates this movie as highly as I do but I really love it. It’s not a masterpiece or anything, but it’s better than some people may assume. I mean, a movie made by MTV starring ‘’Dawson’’ (James Van Der Beek)? It’s a charming and funny movie that can resonate on an emotional level. I’d take it though because I just love it and it’d remind me of drunken nights with my buddies (we always put this on if we’re watching a movie with some beers).

#3 – Goodfellas
“Ever since I was a kid I wanted to be a gangster.’’ – And the first time I ever heard those words from Ray Liotta I knew I was watching the greatest gangster movie ever made. What’s not to love about ‘Fellas? This makes organised criminals look so cool. It’s slick, stylish and addictive. If I was forced to watch it every day then I wouldn’t complain once. I’d take this to an island definitely and I’d probably watch it every day. I think this movie is not only a cinematic masterpiece, but it doesn’t require much thought, hence why I can watch it over and over.

almost famous#4 – Almost Famous
I watch the Director’s Cut of Almost Famous every few months. It’s the movie I go to when I want to go on a journey with the characters. When this is over you feel like you’ve been with them the whole time; I laughed with them, I cried with them and I fell in love with Kate Hudson with them. As corny as it sounds, I think it’s a magical movie with an amazing story. And the soundtrack… that soundtrack… WOW! In my opinion, it’s the best coming of age story ever told.

baseketball#5 – BASEketball
It’s my favourite comedy. I love so many comedies and it was hard narrowing them down to take to a desert island, but I watch this so much and I’m probably going to keep watching it monthly until the day I die. I’ve loved it since I was 8 years old. Matt Stone and Trey Parker are basically my 2 favourite dudes to ever exist. Baseketball is a gem and marks a rare appearance in front of the camera for the duo. It’s hilarious.

the breakfast club#6 – The Breakfast Club
I love John Hughes. I love 80’s movies. I adore Breakfast Club. This has been one of my favorites since I watched it as a teenager a few years ago and ever since it’s been a constant in my life. The reason I would take this is because I’d need to take a John Hughes film and this is my favourite from his outstanding filmography. For me, Hughes’ movies not only make us laugh, but they connect on a human level. I don’t know if there will ever be a filmmaker as good as Hughes in that aspect ever again. Sure, there’s a lot of great ones, but Hughes was the best at it.

american_beauty#7 – American Beauty
Kevin Spacey is one of the greatest men to ever live and he is one hell of an actor. I couldn’t forget some Kevin Spacey and it was a toss up between this and LA Confidential. This just edges LA Confidential a little though and it also has Mena Suvari’s boobs which would help put a lot being alone on a desert island. I love movies about dysfunctional families and slackers and has both executed most excellently. I really adore this movie and it’s easily one of the best of all time in my opinion.

high tension#8 – High Tension
Choosing my horror movies was the toughest decision I’ve ever had to make because it’s my most watched genre. I adore horror. I even have a separate horror blog because I watch so much of it. I’ve chosen this one though because it’s a disturbing masterpiece. It’s absolutely brutal. However, as I typed this I was in the mood for watching this but my number 8 could have been so many other horror movies. I know I wouldn’t get tired of this though because it always hits the spot. I feel like I’ve cheated on so many other movies by including it though. I can’t look John Carpenter, Sam Raimi, Fred Dekker, Stuart Gordon, Brian Yuzna, Christopher Smith and many other directors and movies in the eye now. Overall though, I think I’ve chosen the perfect movies different moods. I didn’t even include Crank 2, Nic Cage or Monster Squad, so that just shows how much thought I put into this.

killyourfriendsBook – ‘Kill Your Friends’ by John Niven – This is book is hilarious but it’s only for the darkest of humour. It’s about a record company A&R man whose job is to sign new musical talent and market them into a success. However, he hates his colleagues and decides to kill them. If you’re a fan of American Psycho you’ll love this. It’s very graphic at times, but it is a real treat if you enjoy dark comedy.

Luxury Item – I’d take my framed picture of my old dog Rocky. He passed away last year after 15 years last year and the picture reminds me of him. It brings back nothing but fond memories and it’s one of the cutest photograph’s you’ll ever see. He was a scruffy West Highland terrier who was always rolling around in mud. I got my favourite photo of him framed and it’s one of my most cherished possessions.

*************************************************************************************************

Thanks again to I Love Celluloid for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice ”castaway” list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to this list, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

*************************************************************************************************

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Excellent choices! American Beauty is such a classic! The book sounds really interesting and awwww about the luxury item. Rocky sounds like he was amazing.

    Like

    Reply
  2. How would you watch them on the island? Just kidding, great list.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Thanks again for doing this buddy, great choices. I’ll be honest, I really felt High Tension was over-rated. Although I had the twist ruined for me so that is probably why it didn’t have the effect it had on others.

    Like

    Reply
  4. atothewr

     /  August 25, 2012

    Nice list. Number 6 is a great choice.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Great choices! And I loved your luxury item pick. Beautiful.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Thanks for the awesome comments guys.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • RECENT POSTS :

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Daily Top 10 Most Viewed

  • Every Movie Reviewed A-Z

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Most Used Tags

  • Random Cool Sites

  • Meta