Cutting Edge Creativity – Desert Island Films

 

Rae from Cutting Edge Creativity has kindly submitted her Desert Island Films. Read on for her choices and reasons, and be sure to check out her site.

*************************************************************************************************

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

*************************************************************************************************

Rae’s Desert Island Films:

1. Inception – I remember the day I saw this very well. I had never even heard of the movie before and I just took a chance to see it. The day I watched it I was just looking to kill a little time, but I had pretty much seen everything else that was out. I chose to see it because I overheard an elderly couple saying that someone told them it was a good movie, so I thought I’d take a chance on it and I’m sure glad I did. I’m also glad that it didn’t end up being a horror movie, haha, which was the personal risk I took when I bought the ticket blindly without asking anyone what it was about.

inception

2. X-Men: First Class – I just love the X-Men. I grew up watching the 90s cartoon version, and I was totally in love with Gambit and his Cajun accent. Hahaha. Although this movie doesn’t have Gambit in it, James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender have great chemistry here as Professor X and Magneto, and I’ve definitely watched this one multiple times.

x men

3. Star Trek: 2009 – Star Trek was another franchise I grew up with, and I think Chris Pine and Zachary Quinto were the perfect Kirk and Spock. This movie isn’t a classic by any means, but I love it anyway.

star trek

4. The Notebook – This takes care of if I ever want to watch something sappy, romantic, and tear-jerky at the same time. Plus, I love Rachel McAdams and Ryan Gosling.

the notebook

5. Kiki’s Delivery Service – The only Hayao Miyazaki film I’ve never gotten sick of. This was either my first or second Miyazaki film ever (the other being Spirited Away). This would take care of my Japanese animation itch.

kikis delivery service

6. Grease – Every once in a while I’ll get into a musical mood, and this was definitely one of my favorites. I watched this one over and over on VHS until the quality of the tape just dropped. Haha. Thank goodness for DVDs! 😀

grease

7. Treasure Planet – This was a pretty tough call. There’s so many other movies that could have taken this slot; Artificial Intelligence, The Lion King, The Artist, and the list really does go on and on…but this has to be my second favorite animation of all time, and I do like to veg out with something simple every now and then.

8. Pride & Prejudice (1940) – I think I have a thing for different time periods. This is not only one of my favorite stories, this is my favorite movie adaptation of it. And I won’t lie, I just felt like my movie collection wouldn’t be complete without a movie that was made way before I even existed.

The one book I’d take with me would probably be The Best American Short Stories of the Century, compiled by John Updike and Katrina Kenison. It’s currently my bathroom reader. What better book to take than an anthology, right? The story selection is great and there’s a little bit of everything in here.

As for my luxury item, it would probably be one of those huge portable tents. Hey, if I’m going to be stranded on an island for life, at least I should be comfortable, right? Hahahaha.

*************************************************************************************************

Thanks again to Rae for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice ”castaway” list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to this list, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

*************************************************************************************************

Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. Thank you Rae!! Great list, some different choices there, and surprise surprise no horror!! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Nice list. I’ve seen Inception quite a few times and enjoy even more every time I do.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you! 🙂 Same here. The sad thing was it was one of those movies where I was like darn, someone came up with an idea similar to mine and executed it pretty well. Hahaha. On the brighter side, it was Chris Nolan that did it, whom I love.

      Goes to show though, sometimes it’s not about who comes up with an idea first, it’s about who can get it out the fastest and makes it the best possible.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Victor De Leon

     /  August 31, 2012

    pretty diverse list. Trek and X-men especially. good job.

    Like

    Reply
  4. atothewr

     /  August 31, 2012

    Nice list. With the time we would have on the island maybe we could figure out Inception.

    Like

    Reply
    • Hahaha, or just enjoy never figuring it out. If only we could peek inside Christopher Nolan’s noggin for that one…althoughhhhh…since he did say he intended the ending to just be opened, I suppose then it depends if you’re a glass is empty vs. glass is full type of person, no? 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  5. Thanks to everyone who took the time to read and/or were kind enough to like/comment on this post! 🙂 Thank you Tyson for allowing me to take part in this project, and hope to see you all over on my blog sometime. 😀 Cheers!

    Like

    Reply
    • Your more than welcome, and thank you for taking part! Your now permanently etched into the history of this site on the Desert Island Films ‘castaway’ page 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  6. These are some great picks! Absolutely love #1 and 3!

    Like

    Reply
  7. For some reason your other comment won’t let me reply to it, haha, not sure why. I thought that might be your counter argument, but I highly doubt it. With my other movie selections we’re allowed on the island, I might just not watch it at all, lol.

    Like

    Reply
  8. love this list…

    Like

    Reply
  9. Carly

     /  September 5, 2012

    Interesting list. Never thought I’d see the notebook appear Tyson’s site. It’s a great film! Was pleasantly surprised with the X-men First class and I’m now looking forward to seeing the follow up. I need to see inception again only see it the once. I thought I was following it completely till the end lol.

    Like

    Reply
  1. Extra Features Podcast – Desert Island Films | Head In A Vice

Leave a Reply

