Kloipy Speaks – Desert Island Films

Kloipy from Kloipy Speaks has kindly submitted his Desert Island Films. Read on for his choices and reasons, and be sure to check out his site.

*************************************************************************************************

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

*************************************************************************************************

Kloipy’s Desert Island Films

1. Annie Hall

Hands down the best romantic comedy ever made. It’s hilarious, uplifting, sad, and much more in its running time, filled with style and simplicity. It also features more insight and depth into the subject of why we choose to love even though the risk is there for hurt. A classic film and one of Woody Allen’s best.

2. Creepshow
One of my all time favorite movies (and not just in the horror genre). I’ve seen this movie too many times to mention and it has never become dull. It still manages to creep me out in the right places and make me laugh like a school girl at the sound of ‘Meteor shit!’

3. Taxi Driver
In my opinion, this is the best Scorsese film, followed closely by Raging Bull. There is just something about this movie that really creates a weird tilt in the viewer by putting you in the off-kilter brain of Travis Bickle.

4. Stand By Me
One of the best Stephen King adaptations that never seems to get the acclaim it deserves. This is a film that reminds me of my childhood more than any other film. This is a movie that understands kids in that short window between childhood and adulthood and doesn’t speak down to them. Just a beautiful film through and through.

5. No Country for Old Men
The newest film on my list and one of the hardest choices. I knew I had to have a Cohen brothers film on here but I struggled between this, Fargo and The Big Lebowski. And as much as I love those previously mentioned films. There is just something about NCfOM that just speaks to me. It’s such a quiet film and in my opinion one of the films that reaches above ‘just a movie’ and hits that coveted ‘film as art’ status.

6. Brazil
Although 2001 is my favorite sci-fi film, Brazil is the most fun. A great dystopian vision that is part Brave New World part 1984, and just enough of the Gilliam weirdness to make you smile. It also holds the distinction as the most shocking twist ending I’ve ever seen in a film.

7. The Shining
There is so much to be said about The Shining and I could go on for hours about it, but this is not the time or place, so I’ll keep it short. This is my favorite horror film and still terrifies me to this day.

8. Magnolia
PTA has quite the catalogue of films, but this is the one that I think is his true masterpiece. A movie that is so smart and beautiful. This would keep me feeling the connection to the world all alone on the island.

Honorable Mention: The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou: my favorite Wes Anderson film and his most underrated.


The Book:
Skeleton Crew by Stephen King

Luxury Item:
A nice Martin acoustic guitar with medium strings because there is nothing so freeing as music. My monkey butlers will figure out a way to create extra strings for me.

*************************************************************************************************

Thanks again to Kloipy for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice ”castaway” list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to this list, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

*************************************************************************************************

Leave a comment

25 Comments

  1. Thanks again for doing this Kloipy!! Your site logo and links are now on the Desert Island Page. Some great choices, including one of the few Stephen King books I don’t own. I need to look out for that!

    Like

    Reply
  2. atothewr

     /  September 6, 2012

    Nice list. Top three are great – more Stephen King is always better.

    Like

    Reply
  3. theipc

     /  September 6, 2012

    No one gives Brazil the credit it deserves! Great list!

    Like

    Reply
    • kloipy

       /  September 6, 2012

      Brazil is a great film. Everyone seems to forget about it but I think it is Gilliam’s masterpiece

      Like

      Reply
  4. kloipy

     /  September 6, 2012

    Reblogged this on Werewolves On The Moon and commented:
    My Desert Island Picks over my buddy Tyson’s awesome site Headinavice.com

    Like

    Reply
  5. Monkey butlers…I should have thought of them too

    Like

    Reply
  6. I was going to say something about your list but then I saw “monkey butlers” and everything else totally flew out of my head. I want a monkey butler. NOW.

    Like

    Reply
    • kloipy

       /  September 6, 2012

      Monkey Butlers are veristile creatures. I will live a life of luxury on this island

      Like

      Reply
  7. The only movie I’ve seen on this list is The Shining, but any list that includes anything written by Stephen King is alright with me 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • kloipy

       /  September 6, 2012

      I love Stephen King, but I thought maybe I went overboard with 3 films and 1 book of his work. But then I thought ‘Damn, i do love this stuff and if I’m trapped with just this stuff, that’s what I want’

      Like

      Reply
  8. brilliant list and Creepshow, damn that was a good(ish) movie back then, haven’t seen it for 15 years probably…

    Like

    Reply
  9. Victor De Leon

     /  September 6, 2012

    great list! creepshow and the shining? just epic.

    Like

    Reply
  10. Nice, eclectic selection. I like all the King stuff. Commenting, though, because you made me laugh with the monkey butlers thing.

    Like

    Reply
  11. Man, I never hear anyone giving Magnolia any credit. I shake your hand, sir. I love the film.

    Like

    Reply
  12. Fantastic picks! Love #1, 3, 5 and 8.

    Like

    Reply
  1. Reblog- My Desert Island Picks at Headinavice.com « Kloipy Speaks

Leave a Reply

