Erotixx – Desert Island Films

Christian from Erotixx has kindly submitted his Desert Island Films. Read on for his choices and reasons, and be sure to check out his site.

*************************************************************************************************

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

*************************************************************************************************

Erotixx – Desert Island Films

1. Spongebob Squarepants The Movie

I mean who can’t love the adorable Spongebob and his friends, this is just such a great movie and one which I can watch over and over again. Having David Hasselhoff as a speedboat is a great extra but I can actually watch the theme song over and over again in great anticipation.

2. Alien – Resurrection

Ok, I love the series with the exception of number 2 which is in my mind the weaker one of them all. But I guess my favourite about this one is my fascination with Winona Ryder, she is and will always be the love of my movie heart, so seeing her in an Alien movie made my heart skip a little bit extra. So Winona as an walking computer and a major bad ass Sigourney Weaver who really doesn’t care about any of the others made this my favourite Alien one (ok, can’t beat number one…).

3. The Big Blue

This was the first time that I saw actor Jean Reno and was straight away blown away and this movie just have such a great story about free diver Jacques Mauhol, even though it’s a long movie you never feel bored. But this movie introduced me to the wonderful world and work of Luc Besson, this is one of his masterpieces.

4. Donnie Darko

This one is one where for me the music is the best part of this movie, don’t get me wrong this movie about a time travelling kid who sees dead bunnies (well…) and just trying to figure out why he has these episodes of blackouts of slight violence to say the least. But the music, just wow, such a master piece of great background music and the cover of It’s a mad world, rocks! Do see the movie and listen…

5. Beetlejuice

‘I myself am weird and unusual’. My first Burton movie kicked me straight in the groin and made me wish for more with this movie. Great cast, great atmosphere, superb artwork. What’s not to love about this one.

6. Armageddon

I really do hate myself for loving this movie but it’s such a heads on rush filled with romance (well…), action (hell yeah), science (well, once again…) and a superb cast. The almighty Bruce Willis, the odd Steve Buschemi, the massive (and much missed) Michael Clarke, the Swede Peter Stormare and the hottie Liv Tyler… So patriotic it actually hurts a little bit and makes me want to be an american (sorry Sweden). If anyone hasn’t seen it, please watch it with a nice bunch of popcorn and don’t expect to think too much, just enjoy it.

7. Evil Dead II

Just one word for this extravaganza of lovely blood overkill, SUPERB! actually will add some more, watched this one when I was 10, me and my friend rented it and ditched school for the day just to cycle home to my friends house (took us 40 minutes from town to home, yes I lived in the bloody forest) and put this in the VCR. 1 hour and 30 minutes of pure bliss, and then re watching it straight on. Walking home though in the forest was slightly harder, I was majorly freaked out some demi god/monster was out to get me.

8. Show me love (Fucking Åmål)

An amazing growing up movie about two girls, one a bad girl with a bad reputation but never done anything with the guys and Agnes who is in love with Elin. They end up together after a birthday party but Elin has problem with accepting or even considering she might be homosexual. So you end up with a sad but also uplifting movie.

Book:
Going Postal by Terry Pratchett – Am a lover of the Discworld novels and this one I can re-read over and over. About a small time scam artist who upon getting caught has to take over the post office in Ankmorpork and turn it into something manageable but it’s hard work with banshees, talking letters, exploding cabbage stamps and a sexy smoking girl who hates your guts around.

Luxury item:
A map of the island, I can get lost 5 minutes away from my bedroom so imagine what an deserted island will do to me without a map.

*************************************************************************************************

Thanks again to Christian for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice ”castaway” list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to this list, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

*************************************************************************************************

Previous Post
Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. Now THAT Is A Unique Listing Of Flick, Fo SHO.
    Might Be The Most Unique We’ve Seen Thus Far hehehe
    I Wouldn’t Have Picked Any Of Them, Save Maybe “Evil Dead II”, But I’d Watch The Others If Someone Else Brought Them To My Little Island hehehe
    -B.

    Like

    Reply
    • thanks mate, I just love The Evil Dead series so would have love to have them all with me but am an all-arounder, watch everything…

      Like

      Reply
  2. theipc

     /  September 24, 2012

    Great list Christian! Love your site too!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Beetlejuice is an excellent choice; I never get tired of it.

    Like

    Reply
    • there is just no way you can get fed up with this movie, Keaton is just so great as an insane spook and my favourite character is Sylvia ‘Juno’ Sidney as the non-smoking mentor, she is just awesome in this movie…

      Like

      Reply
  4. Thanks for doing this Christian! Great that so many different people and sites are getting involved.

    Unique list, and I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who secretly loves Armageddon. Always liked it, seen it so many times and always get stick for liking it. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  5. Great list, though, I personally wouldn’t have picked that particular Alien film for it’s not my personal fav. top job

    Like

    Reply
    • for me it’s an underrated one but I can also see why many hardcore fans wasn’t happy about this one, was different but I just loved the story and the fact that they made Ripley so emotionless and non caring, think Sigourney must have had fun playing this Ripley…

      Like

      Reply
  6. Nice choices man. It’s great to see Alien Resurrection getting some love. Many people slate this film but I loved it.

    Like

    Reply
    • phew, thank god, there are others out there who loves this one… was wondering if I was alone…

      Like

      Reply
      • Youre not alone. Admittedly the ending was a bit dodgy but other than that I thought this was excellent. I’d go as far the say that it’s the second best after Aliens.

        Like

        Reply
  7. “I’m a Goofy Goober, yeah! You’re a Goofy Goober, yeah!” Excellent choices! Also great choice with the map. I too get lost everywhere and anywhere.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Reblogged this on Erotixx and commented:
    totally forgot to reblog my Desert Island post over at Head in vice (an excellent movie site and has also a damn nice blogger behind it…).

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

