Mr Rumsey – Desert Island Films

 

James from Mr Rumsey’s Film Related Musings has kindly submitted his Desert Island Films. Read on for his choices and reasons, and be sure to check out his site.

*************************************************************************************************

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

*************************************************************************************************

Mr Rumsey – Desert Island Films

1) Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi
I’m sure that I don’t have to really explain Star Wars as a choice, except for my reasons for picking Return over the other two from the original trilogy. Nostalgia is a big one as this happened to be the film which I watched over and over again as a kid. Another reason would be that my favourite scene from the trilogy comes at the end of this one; when Luke and Vader are duelling and Luke just keeps smashing down against Vader’s lightsaber, no technique left but just emotion. Brilliant scene. I would need to see them again in order to decide which film is the best, but this one brings back the most childhood memories.

2) Cabaret
This is one of my favourite musicals and also functions on the island as a reminder of parties, drink, society, as well as the darker side to humanity. It’s a powerful film and left its mark on me when I first saw it, and it’s for those reasons that it has made the cut.

3) Kill Bill: Vol. 1
It’s not my favourite Tarantino film however I am going to want a very fun, very re-playable film on my island and this fits the bill perfectly.

4) Magnolia
Magnolia’s criss-crossing tale of multiple characters and relationships makes up a collective portrayal of humanity which I have always found to be particularly interesting. Powerful and moving, with an excellent cast all handing in excellent performances – this film had to make the list.

5) Some Like it Hot
A lot of comedies had to fall by the wayside for this list but this one trumped them all; it’s one of the most endearing, farcical and intelligent films I have ever seen. I knew that I had to have one Marilyn film in my collection and this one, whilst regularly contesting against The Misfits for my favourite of her performances, is the overall better film.

6) Jaws
It’s here because I think it’s an excellent, truly entertaining film, and not because I think it will particularly help me when I have to fight off my own inevitable shark problems. I know that I won’t tire of it easily because I dissected that film over and over for my degree, and yet I can still re-watch it and enjoy the experience. Easiest decision I had to make for this list.

7) Alien
One of the few films that provoked such a reaction in me that I began watching it religiously for a certain period of time – the sustained tension is extraordinarily well handled, the visuals still beautiful, and when things start kicking off, it’s the strength of the cast which make it all too believable. I can understand why many people prefer Aliens, I do believe they are as good as each other but when it comes down to it, it’s the intimate claustrophobia within Alien which has to make it my favourite.

8) Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid
Thelma and Louise very nearly took this buddy movie slot but in the end this one won by an absolute fraction. The two films are incredibly similar in tone and approach as well as their strong emotional resonance and very likeable characters, however Butch and Sundance ultimately won because of Katherine Ross’s character; she is so very good here and therefore just managed to snatch away my vote.

Book – Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – A no-brainer, I have read it more times than I can remember and I reckon it can still stand up to a fair few more re-readings before I would get sick of it.

Luxury Item – My acoustic guitar would come with me. I would have something to do when I’m not watching my films and I would also be able to hear my favourite songs – albeit out of tune and with dreadful vocals.

*************************************************************************************************

Thanks again to Mr Rumsey for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice ”castaway” list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to this list, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

*************************************************************************************************

Next Post
Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. Nice choices. I’m an big fan of Jaws, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, and Return of the Jedi.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Cabaret was one of the movies I went to see in the movies again and again. Every day for an entire week, and I watched it twice each time. Then I bought the album, the tape, the DVD then the BRD … and the CD … well, I like it. A lot. Some Like It Hot is another great one Billy Wilder at the top of his form; among the funniest movies ever. Jaws, watched it again the other night, still a wonderfully scary movie. I ran out of room before I ran out of beloved movies! Great list.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you!
      I was wondering what people would make of Cabaret being on the list, glad to read about your love for it. That one got under my skin somehow and has never really left.
      And yeah, Some Like It Hot is one of those few comedies, actually make that films, which I can watch time and time again and it still stays as fresh, hilarious and charming as the first time I saw it.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Reblogged this on Mr Rumsey's film related musings and commented:
    Check out my Desert Island Film list over at Head In A Vice!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Great picks!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Thanks again buddy for doing this! What is your favourite Tarantino film? Pulp Fiction (just!) gets my vote 🙂

    Oh, and you are now officially on the prestigious castaway list with the rest of this motley crew!

    http://headinavice.com/desert-island-movies/

    Like

    Reply
    • No problem at all, it was a lot of fun to do.
      I’m going to have to go with Pulp Fiction as well – that one was one of the special moments in my film life when the credits rolled and I just sat there thinking – I don’t quite know why yet, but that film was special. Even so, it’s a tough call.
      Excellent, I just went over there and left a comment.
      Cheers for this!

      Like

      Reply
  6. Reblogged this on Stuff On Rated Mature and commented:
    This is a great feature of this blog ‘Head In A Vice’ where users pick their Desert Island Films’. One of my Desert Island Films would not be Basic Instinct so I could keep on watching a scene from that movie, and I’m disgusted with all those people who thought that would be the case.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Great list! I love Cabaret but I wasn’t a fan of the movie.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you! From what I hear there are some rather large differences between the two? Was it these changes which you didn’t like, or just something about the film itself?

      Like

      Reply
      • The film just didn’t capture the show’s spirit to me. And I know there were some significant differences between the two but I can’t remember what they are because I tried to block the movie experience from my mind, lol. The show is just more powerful to me. 🙂

        Like

        Reply
    • Fair enough 🙂 Obviously I can’t really comment having not seen the show but I know that I prefer the film to the original source material – the novel Goodbye to Berlin. I really need to see the show and then I can have a pretty decent overview. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

      Reply
  8. Great picks, James! Fantastic list, especially #3 😉

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks! What do you think of Kill Bill Vol.2?

      Like

      Reply
    • I’m somewhere in between you guys then, I really like it but I don’t think it stands up to the first. Madsen is great here – I love his ‘we deserve to die’ speech!

      Like

      Reply
      • I agree 🙂

        Like

        Reply
        • truemistersix

           /  October 6, 2012

          Volume 2 has got a lot going for it; The fight between the Bride and Elle is brutal – it’s the scene that sets It apart for me, although I do find V2 slows down a bit too much halfway through for me.

          Volume 1 has got some outstanding set pieces; culminating in the magnificent cinematic experience that is the Crazy 88!

          Like

  9. great list and Butch and the sundance is such a well deserved one to a desert island list…

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you, and yes it’s such a good film – I’m a little surprised to have not seen it on any lists before. But then with only eight films allowed, many greats have to be shoved aside!

      Like

      Reply
  1. My Movie Alphabet « Mr Rumsey's film related musings

Leave a Reply

  • RECENT POSTS :

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Daily Top 10 Most Viewed

  • Every Movie Reviewed A-Z

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Most Used Tags

  • Random Cool Sites

  • Meta