True Mister Six – Desert Island Films

Chris from True Mister Six has kindly submitted his Desert Island Films. Read on for his choices and reasons, and be sure to check out his site.

*************************************************************************************************

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

*************************************************************************************************

True Mister Six – Desert Island Films

1. Almost Famous

almost famous

I LOVE rock n’ roll movies and this coming of age retro cool classic captures my imagination every single time I watch it.

There’s nothing I dislike about this movie. Performances? Love em. Soundtrack? Love it. Direction? Love it. Writing? Love it. It is all I could want from a movie and more.

I truly believe that Cameron Crowe gets what it is about rock music that makes it so appealing and holds a profound understanding of an individual such as myself whose entire life revolves around music and movies – and he built something into this film that just flicks a switch in me and absorbs me entirely.

2. Serenity

As a loyal Browncoat who regularly laments to loss of Firefly; Serenity is placed on the list as a Desert Island Film as a movie I turn to time & time again because it is like hanging out with beloved old friends.

It’s also a cracking little Sci-Fi adventure in its own right. It’s got great action, solid wit, and charming characters that I could revisit happily while lost alone on a desert island.

3. American Gangster

Denzel is the man. He is one of my all time top actors and I love the majority of his body of work – with this as possibly favourite of his films. I know this would be a good Desert Island Film because I’ve watched it loads of times since its initial release.

I find Denzel so intently watcheable in this film – he is a powerful, seductive and alluring character that exudes pure cool every time he enters a scene. I am wholly drawn into this movie whenever I see it and can think of no better flick to have in my Desert Island Films.

4. School of Rock

This is my sick day movie. I utterly love this film and find something about it so warm and accessible that I turn to it every time I am poorly, or blue, or exhausted and need my spirits refreshed or my mind comforted.

There is a beautiful purity and innocence to the film which is increasingly rare in features of recent times that really sets it apart from the crowd. I know Jack Black’s buffoonery isn’t everyone’s cup of tea and many find it off-putting but in this film it is just right, it just works.

The subject matter (and the related soundtrack) also appeals to me greatly as a bit of a muso and, as with others on the list, it connects with my ‘thing’ about music and cinema (my two loves) colliding in a talented, well executed manner.

5. The Last Waltz

Here we are again with a film that combines my two great loves of music and cinema on the list. This is the greatest concert film/rockumentary to ever have been committed to celluloid and is second to none in it’s field.

The performances are all top notch, both live at the Winterland or on the soundstage. The interview sections are warm and honest with the Band’s humour and wit coming across in spades. All of this is expertly captured by the directoral talents of one Martin Scorcese; bringing a cinematic flavour rarely seen in rockumentarys of this kind. All of this together makes for a hugely entertaining flick, especially for a music fan.

6. Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang

The first time I saw this film I had utterly no idea what it was even vaguely about. I hadn’t read or heard a thing about it – I just added it to my Lovefilm list (I was actually subscribed to ‘DVDS365’ back then) blind because Downey Jr & Kilmer were a couple of faces and Shane Black was known to me. I’m glad I did. It’s an amazing, absurd, creative little movie that I thoroughly enjoy every time I watch it.

The shining jewel in this movie’s crown has to absolutely be the dialogue; the three main protagonists (played by Kilmer, Downey Jr, and Monaghan) are witty and dynamic in their interactions and sizzle with every word. Downey Jr and Kilmer have so much bromance chemistry it’s untrue and really gives the sizzle more juice.

I know some find the movie a bit pretentious but for me anything so well paced, tightly written and expertly performed as this is excused it’s pretentiousness.

7. Batman Begins

batman begins

There’s not a lot I can say about this film that hasn’t already been said really – all I can really say is that it is, to me, perfect in every way.

I have been a huuuuuuuge Batman fan ever since I was a lad and watched the cartoon series and read the comics in the early nineties; and have remained a fanboy of the Dark Knight ever since. One part of the mythology I always loved was the martial arts aspect to the character; I would really engage with any arc that would involve characters that were skilled fighters, and, of course, R’as Al Ghul storylines were some of those engaging tales for me.

So, simply put, Batman Begins was everything I hoped it could be, focused on mythology elements I adore and had Batman square up against one of my favourite villains.

8. Back to the Future

back to the future

I have just one thing to say about this film;

*Power Chords*

You don’t need money, don’t take fame

Don’t need no credit card to ride this train

It’s strong and it’s sudden and it’s cruel sometimes

But it might just save your life

That’s the power of love

A little note about Star Wars – 

I freaking love the original Star Wars trilogy but elected not to have them in my Desert Island Films. It felt wrong to blow three slots on one trilogy but I am unable to separate them and watch just one – I would just end up moping around the island all frustrated that I didn’t have the other two to watch! So, as odd as it felt to me my greatest cinematic love of all time hasn’t featured – although maybe this note will make it’s way into the post and I will have smuggled a mention in anyway! – (Least you deserve after I messed up your list! – Tyson)

Book

My book would be the ‘Absolute Planetary‘ collection by Warren Ellis and Darick Robertson. It is one of my all time favourite graphic novels and must have re-read it a hundred times; I never bore of it. The story is aces and Ellis at his finest and Robertsons artwork is A-grade – I can always look at the pictures and admire the outstanding art.

Novelty Item

Without a doubt I would take my guitar – I could sing to myself to pass the time. I could sing the blues when sad, or cheer myself up by singing something jaunty, or get misty eyed and nostalgic by playing stuff to remind me of home.

*************************************************************************************************

Thanks again to True Mister Six for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice ”castaway” list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to this list, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

*************************************************************************************************

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Sorry about the mix up Chris – no idea why or how that happened, but should all be sorted now!!

    Another great list (second person to pick Almost Famous) and thanks again for doing this. I’m normally more professional and these mistakes shouldn’t happen (much!) in the future. Cheers for being cool about it dude 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Reblogged this on True Mister Six.

    Like

    Reply
  3. truemistersix

     /  October 5, 2012

    No worries man – it’s all good. Just super pleased to join the prestigious blogging alum that are Desert Island Filmsters!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Love School Of Rock – good choice, it would definitely cheer me up on a desert island!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Ahhhh, Serenity. Excellent, amazing, wonderful choice. I think I shall watch it again tonight.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Victor De Leon

     /  October 6, 2012

    School of Rock, Serenity and Kiss Kiss Bang Bang are inspired choices! Good list.

    Like

    Reply
  7. truemistersix

     /  October 6, 2012

    You can’t stop the signal…

    Like

    Reply
  8. Great picks! Love seeing how this project keeps expanding! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  9. Definetly agree with Batman Begins and Back to the Future! Two amazing fims that just get better each time you watch them =]

    Like

    Reply
  10. Love the choices of Serenity, Batman Begins and Back To The Future. Three of my favorites!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

