MamaTattoo – Desert Island Films

Magzmama from MamaTattoo has kindly submitted todays Desert Island Films. Read on for Magzmama’s choices and reasons.

*************************************************************************************************

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

*************************************************************************************************

MamaTattoo – Desert Island Films

Nights of Cabiria –

My favorite Fellini movie. For me, it runs the gamut of emotions – from existing only, to hope, to love, to crashing disappointment, to hope again. Perfect in every way. (It was between this and Bicycle Thief for a slot. It was Cabiria all the way!)

Uncle Buck –

Truly one of the funniest films I’ve ever seen, yet I cry my friggin eyes out every single time as John Candy waves goodbye. Perfect combination of Candy and Hughes. (Arthur – the original, was a runner up to Uncle Buck – I still quote it weekly).

Wings of Desire –

Who doesn’t want to think that angels are among us, softening heartbreaking thoughts and detachedly loving us? And who wouldn’t want to imagine one of them loving us so much that they’d give up a divine life to be with us? I love this film so hard it hurts.

Down By Law –

It feels like a dream even after all these years. Benigni was sublime and the scene with his wife in the house makes me wish love like that could exist in my being!

Shawshank Redemption –

The greatest thing to come out of Stephen King’s crazy brain, and one of the best film versions of a story I’ve ever seen. Perfectly cast, perfectly written and directed. Another film that fought for a place on my list that would have gone here was To Kill A Mockingbird.

The Red Shoes –

Hans Christian Anderson + Michael Powell + Moira Shearer + the most beautiful colors and music on film makes perfection. I love this as much today (at the mid to late 40s range) as I did when I was 6. When that opening number begins, my heart pounds and I’m locked into it for the long haul.

Don’t Look Now –

Made me fall in love AND be terrified to visit Venice at the same time. For me, the best, creepiest horror flick.

The Hangover –

I can’t help it. It makes me laugh every single time I see it, and I’ve not yet been able to turn it off and go about my life!

For A Book: I would have said “Frankenstein” – it’s my favorite. But I was reading what another participant wrote – A Short History Of Everything – and I think that’s the one I’d steal!!! If I was ever rescued, I’d be a whole lot more interesting when I returned!

For a Luxury Item – I’m a double Leo, and I’d need a good pillow! LOL

*************************************************************************************************

Thanks again to Magzmama for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice ”castaway” list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to this list, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

*************************************************************************************************

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Great list, lots of different choices. Loving that you took Uncle Buck, such a great movie, and one that I could watch over and over.

    Thanks again for doing this, really appreciate you joining my project 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Some excellent choices there. Wings Of Desire and Down by Law especially.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Uncle Buck – classic. Great choice.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Never seen Uncle Buck…. Now I have to! Great list!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Thanks everyone! There are two that I left off and I want to mention them. Sullivan’s Travels and Roman Holiday. Both are just great films without a classically happy ending. Thanks for letting me be a part of this!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Reblogged this on MamaTattoo and commented:
    My list on Head In A Vice! So proud!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Such great picks!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

