Rorschach Reviews – Desert Island Films

Following on from yesterdays interview with Rorschach Reviews (which you can read HERE), today I get him to reveal his Desert Island Films. Read on for his choices and reasons, and be sure to check out his site.

*************************************************************************************************

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

*************************************************************************************************

Rorschach Reviews – Desert Island Films

1.  Monty Python and the Holy Grail

With two Python-heads for parents I essentially grew up with this movie, and I have seen it so much to the point where I can literally turn off the volume and quote the entire movie word for word.  Monty Python’s strange and silly style of humor might not be for everyone, but for me this is cinematic comfort food.

Favorite Scene:  Impossible to pick, but I’ve got to go with the lobbing of the Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch.

2.  The Dark Knight

What can I say, I know it’s a popular choice but I’m not going to let my inner hipster prevent this movie’s popularity from giving it a well deserved spot on my list.  It’s hard for me to pick my favorite Nolan movie because they’re almost all equally amazing in their own ways, but I’d have to say that The Dark Knight would be the one I choose to bring to a desert island.

Favorite Scene:  ”Wanna see a magic trick?”

3.  Anchorman

Will Ferrell has always been a wildcard for me, but this first collaboration of him and Funny-or-Die buddy Adam McKay remains the height of his career in my eyes.  Not intelligent in the slightest, but undoubtedly one of the most quotable movies of the past several decades.  To this day I find myself inventing curse words along the lines of “Great Odin’s Raven!” or “Son of a Bee-Sting!”

Favorite Scene:  The Newsman Gladiator fight, it truly did “Escalate quickly”

4.  Fight Club

Another fairly typical choice but this movie is what truly introduced me to stylized film making, and the twist near the end was one of the most genuinely surprising turn of events in any movie I’d seen at the time. Aside from cementing Ed Norton as one of my favorite actors of all time, this also gave me a whole new respect for David Fincher after having previously only seen his disappointing Alien 3.

Favorite Scene:  The one man motivational seminar for the Asian shop clerk.

5.  Hot Fuzz

You might be able to tell that I absolutely love British comedies, and as far as modern entries to the genre go I can’t think of a movie I enjoyed better than this. Pegg and Frost play perfectly off each other and Edgar Wright’s in your face style of directing coupled with a fabulously tongue-in-cheek tone make this a joy to watch every single time for me.

Favorite Scene:  The entire shootout at the end of the movie.  Brilliant.

6.  Lord of the Rings: Return of the King

Of all of the trilogies I can think of, Lord is probably the most effectively capped off of all of them. The word Epic describes this film in about every way, and any movie which manages to keep its audience riveted to the screen for (most of) its 200 minute run time easily deserves the record tying number of oscar wins the movie received.

Favorite Moment:  King Theoden’s Speech before the Charge of the Rohirrim “Deeeaaaatttthhhh!”

7.  Pulp Fiction

Again, hard to pick a favorite Tarantino movie but this is what really started it all for me.  Aside from putting Samuel L Jackson’s career on the fast track, this movie introduced the world to Tarantino’s manic transitions between amusing casual banter and extreme violence.  While a lot of his later movies showcased his style quite well, nothing quite equalled up to his true masterpiece.

Favorite Scene:  Any scene where Samuel L “Mothafuckin” Jackson quotes bible verses

8.  Office Space

This is another one of those movies I’ve seen a dozen times and still absolutely love it.  Mike Judge’s deadpan style of comedy and brilliant use of Gangsta Rap combined with great Zen-Slacker performance from Ron Livingston make this easily one of my favorite comedies of all time.

Favorite Scene:  Gotta be the beat down on the printer.  Damn it feels good be a gangsta.

Book:  Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

So I’m not going to lie, I haven’t read a book all the way through since high school.  Do I feel culturally handicapped sometimes, yes. Does it make me want to spend hours reading a book when there are already so many movies out there I haven’t seen?  No.  In any case, I’ve always been a major Potter Head and I firmly believe that this last book of the series is the best of them all. Rowling did an excellent job of tying together aspects from each of the preceding books into one epic finale (which is even better when you hear Jim Dale get all excited sounding when he reads the audio book)

Favorite “Scene”:  Molly Weasley bringing down the pain on that bitch Bellatrix.

Inanimate article:  Definitely my guitar.

Her name is Gabriella and she is a Jet Black acoustic electric Takamine, and being stranded on a desert island with here would be a lovely chance to catch up on some practicing.  Who knows, maybe  after three years or so I could be playing like her namesake from Rodrigo y Gabriella.  A guy can dream.

*************************************************************************************************

Thanks again to Andy for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice ”castaway” list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to this list, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

*************************************************************************************************

Leave a comment

27 Comments

  1. Excellent list buddy! More love for Anchorman which will be pushing #1 as most picked now 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Great choices all of them and now I so want to change my already posted list. Would need a monty python movie w me, how on earth could I forget that… ‘With big pointy teethsss’ love that scene..

    Like

    Reply
  3. Some excellent choices here. Any inclusion of Fight Club is alright by me 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  4. Solid choices.

    Like

    Reply
  5. You’ve got a pretty great list here with many cool film choices, in particular Fight Club and Pulp Fiction. And I completely agree on the best Harry Potter DH moment! 😀 This list does however lead me to confess that I haven’t seen Hot Fuzz. I love Shaun of the Dead and so I don’t really know why I haven’t but there you go. I feel ashamed.
    It’s nice to see another guitarist on here as well 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  6. Fight Club… simply perfect!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Reblogged this on Rorschach Reviews and commented:
    I had put this list together a while as part of Tyson Carter of Head In A Vice’s Desert Island Movie series, but didn’t coordinate everything until recently. In any case, here is a list of my 10 Desert Island films, plus a few more tidbits. Enjoy!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Great choices there, Andy! So awesome to see Pulp Fiction get mentioned yet again. Great book pick. I so agree on the best “scene”.

    Like

    Reply
  9. “Look at the bones!…”
    I enjoyed all the movies you’ve listed that I’ve seen. Great choices. Your blog looks pretty cool so…
    You’ve Been Nominated
    Hi. I just nominated you for a Very Inspiring Blog Award. Not sure of the exact rules, who started it, or where to find the exact rules. I think you are supposed to nominate 15 other blogs when you accept (kind of like chain letter/pyramid type advertising) but I know I won’t be advertising that many). Anyway, it only serves to help promote your blog. For more info, check out the appropriate post at my site on A Toast To Dragons. (The pasting of links hasn’t work on the last couple of sites, so in case it fails on yours, here’s the url: http://www.atoasttodragons.com).

    Like

    Reply
    • Hey buddy. Thanks very much, I’m very grateful 🙂

      Should you ever wish to join my project and choose your own 8 films for a desert island stay, please let me know, would love to feature you! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  10. I did this Desert Island thing a while ago and I think I put Batman Begins but I wouldn’t mind bringing The Dark Knight as well. As for LOTR, if I bring the entire trilogy would that count as one, he..he.. It’s gonna be lonely on that island! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  11. Hi Tyson, I’d love to join my project but I’m not sure what you’re asking me to do. What do you mean by “All I would need is a book and a luxury item…”??

    Like

    Reply
    • My apologies, I had hoped you may have seen some of the other peoples ‘Desert Island’ lists on my site – the format just asks what book and item people would bring. I normally email people the details. I can see an email address for you in my stats, would you mind me emailing you and trying to explain myself better? 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

