CinEnemA – Desert Island Films

desert island

Catalin from CinEnemA has kindly submitted his Desert Island Films. Read on for his choices and reasons, and be sure to check out his site.

*************************************************************************************************

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

*************************************************************************************************

1. Rocky Horror Picture Show

rocky horror

Why? It’s my favorite movie. I know it by heart – the dialogue, the songs, everything. It’s tremendously funny and everytime I watch it, it feels like the first time. It will be an all-singing, all-dancing, desert island spectacular!

2. Blue Velvet

blue velvet

Why? It’s my favorite Lynch movie. It has great music, wonderful cinematography and great acting. Great piece of Americana that deserves to be on everyone’s Desert Island list.

3. Halloween

halloween

Why? It’s the only movie that still gives me the creeps. Plus, I love Jamie Lee Curtis and I adore Donald Pleasance. I strongly feel that this movie should be taught in universities – it’s a technical marvel in terms of montage, music etc.

4. The Breakfast Club

the breakfast club

Why? Because it’s fun! Because I love John Hughes and because it’s a very smart movie. Sure, it’s stereotypical to hell and back but that’s the whole point of it, isn’t it. We all were at least at one point in our lives, one of those characters.

5. Jackie Brown

jackie brown

Why? Because I can’t take 20 films or else I would’ve added some more blaxploitation films to the mix. Since I can take only 8, it’s gotta be Jackie Brown. I strongly feel that this is Tarantino’s best and most mature movie. Pam Grier is simply stunning as Jackie Brown, the music is kick-ass and the movie is so engaging.

6. Love & Death

love and death

Why? Because it’s my favorite Woody Allen movies. It cracks me up everytime I watch it. It’s smart, the slapstick humor is so friggin’ amazing and the references to Russian literature are simply demented.

7. An American Tail

an american tail

Why? I had a hard time picking between this and Grave of The Fireflies, which is another one of my favorite animated films. An American Tail ultimately won because our history together is so much longer – it’s a movie I kept watching and re-watching when I was a child and, now that I’m all grown up, there are different meanings I get out of the movie.

8. The Beyond

the beyond

Why? It’s my favorite Lucio Fulci film. It’s gorgeous to look at. Or should I say … gorEgeous. That was a lame pun, please forgive me. But, seriously, it is a beautiful film albeit a completely nonsensical one. But I don’t think it detracts from the tone of the film.

The Book:

Beyond Terror: The Films of Lucio Fulci

beyond terror

Since I can’t take all of the movies I want with me, I’ll have to take a huge book about movies. And since Fulci is one of my favorite directors, I’ll take this book by Stephen Thrower. It is an amazing book, very well written and researched with a ton of photos.

Luxury Item:

the dreaming

A big-ass pillow, filled with feathers. I need the least bit of comfort, right?  Inside the pillow, without anybody knowing, I’ll stuff a CD of Kate Bush’s The Dreaming album. It’s one of my favorite albums of all time and I cannot live without it.

*************************************************************************************************

Thanks again to Catalin for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice ”castaway” list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to this list, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

*************************************************************************************************

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Thank you Catalin!! Great choices, especially Jackie Brown, nice to see that film get some love. Personally I wouldn’t say its Tarantinos best, but its still an incredible film. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Rocky Horror!! YES!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Reblogged this on CinEnemA and commented:
    So, yours truly is stranded on a desert island. Here’s the 8 films that I’d take with me, courtesy of Tyson Carter’s mercy, as he’s the one exiling people to these deserted islands. Man, where do you get the money to buy a desert island for each and everyone?

    Like

    Reply
    • I just send you one at a time – then kill you with the polar bear from ‘Lost’ then start again with new castaway 🙂

      Thanks again for joining in!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Jackie Brown is my favorite Tarantino film too. It’s the subtle one where he shows the most restraint and doesn’t dialogue me to death. I love Blue Velvet also, to a nearly indescribable degree, and of course The Beyond never gets old. Your island has good taste!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Some really great choices here, but the one that surpasses them all is the inclusion of Kate Bush on your island! 🙂 I haven’t seen her on any lists including my own, and I’m slightly ashamed now that I didn’t take any of her work.
    I can’t back Jackie Brown being Tarantino’s best but it’s good to see it getting some attention on your list.

    Like

    Reply
  6. theipc

     /  December 2, 2012

    Nice list! Excellent work! I can’t believe you didn’t put The Exorcist on here : )

    Like

    Reply
  7. Awesome choices, Catalin!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Great list. Rocky Horror, Halloween, The Breakfast Club, Fulci, Tarantino, nice.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • RECENT POSTS :

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Daily Top 10 Most Viewed

  • Every Movie Reviewed A-Z

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Most Used Tags

  • Random Cool Sites

  • Meta