Basement Screams – Desert Island Films

desert island

J.Murphy from Basement Screams has kindly submitted his Desert Island Films. Read on for his choices and reasons, and be sure to check out his site.

*************************************************************************************************

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

*************************************************************************************************

Basement Screams – Desert Island Films

When I first started to make my Desert Island 8 list I thought it would be a much easier task than it turned out to be. Almost immediately I had a list of more than forty titles and after a couple hours of pouring over my film collection it was clear the concept of this list had consumed me. It’s easy to come up with eight films you can not live without, knowing that you will be waking up to them in the safety and comfort of your home with your loved ones. But strip that safety away. Take away your house, family, dog, cozy movie watching chair and refrigerator full of beer and snacks. When you think about the possibility of actually spending the rest of your days on a desolate island away from everything you know and love then your list will most likely change quite a bit. I’m just saying, I dont care how much you love Dancer In The Dark you don’t want it to be one of the only eight films you’ll ever watch again. You’ll kill yourself within a fucking week. Anyway, it is with this mentality that I have come up with the following list. Many thanks to Tyson for letting me take part in this great series. It was well worth the headaches!

1. Halloween III Season Of The Witch

Halloween III

John Carpenter’s Halloween is probably my favorite film of all time, however I chose to bring the series’ third entry with for a handful of reasons. It is the most aligned with the actual holiday of Halloween than the other films in the series, it’s villain is an insane Irish mask maker, it’s easily one of John Carpenter’s best musical scores and it’s Tom fucking Atkins doing what he does best – rocking a sweet ‘stache and being a heavy drinking man-whore. Essential.

2. The Monster Squad

Monster Squad

Pure childhood fun. The Monster Squad is a film that I watched a million times on VHS as a kid and it never got old. It is also one of the torches I have passed on to my seven year old son who is now a full on monster kid. Pure parental fun.

3. Seven Samurai

Seven Samurai

Akira Kurosawa’s epic samurai film needs no explanation. It truly is one of the greatest films ever made. I chose this because I think the theme of the desperate, self-proclaimed “helpless” villagers rising up (with a little guidance from the samurai, of course) to defeat their oppressors will give me the motivation to keep going in hopes of getting off this miserable fucking island.

4. American Hardcore

American HC

I’m a huge music nerd and I knew from the get-go that I would have to bring with a music documentary so I would have something to keep my ears happy. This was an easy choice. I was first exposed to punk and hardcore via my older brother’s record collection in sixth grade, and I never really looked back. This features every great early US hardcore band from Black Flag to Minor Threat to Bad Brains.

5. High Fidelity

High Fidelity

A great film based on one of my all-time favorite novels. Its sweet, its funny, the soundtrack kicks fucking ass…

6. Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me

Twin Peaks Fire

This isn’t David Lynch’s best film, nor is it my favorite, but I just couldn’t bare to think about spending the rest of my days without the chance to revisit these characters ever again. Twin Peaks is my absolute all-time favorite television show, and while this film prequel takes on an entirely different tone, the heart of the show is still there. Plus if I can never have coffee or pie again, at least I can live vicariously through the patrons of the Double R.

7. The Raid

Raid

Absolutely one of my favorite films of the past few years. I brought this along as a workout video of sorts. My plan is to watch The Raid, get pumped, and then kick, punch, elbow and scream at every tree, rock and small creature I cross paths with. I think it will be therapeutic.

8. Taxi Driver

Taxi Driver

This is a man who could not take it anymore… I know that I’m not mentally strong enough to survive forever on this desolate rock. I’ll miss my children and wife too much and the lack of coffee, cigarettes and beer will certainly be the icing on my suicidal cake. This is where Taxi Driver comes in. When the island has finally drained every last bit of strength I have, I’ll sit down, watch Taxi Driver and then proceed drown myself in the ocean. It’s the perfect last film. It’s also a perfect film all around.

For my book I chose Hermann Hesse’s Siddhartha, for much the same reason that I chose to bring Seven Samurai. I believe that it will help keep me from drowning myself too quickly.

For my one luxury item I chose to bring my son’s stuffed bear from when he was a baby. It will not only serve as a reminder of my kids but I’ll also have someone to talk to as I slowly go insane.

*************************************************************************************************

Thanks again to J.Murphy for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice ”castaway” list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to this list, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

*************************************************************************************************

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. Great list and reasonings my friend! Love it, especially the Taxi Driver pick.

    I really enjoyed Twin Peaks but not the prequel as much. Sure was one crazy show 🙂

    Cheers for joining this project buddy!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Oh, wow! Wow!

    Like

    Reply
  3. gregory moss

     /  December 13, 2012

    Great to see Halloween III in there – hugely misunderstood and underrated (I’m a massive Nigel Kneale/Quatermass fan). Also great to see Fire Walk With Me in there too – one of my fave Lynch films. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Halloween III holds such a huge place in my heart. For years it was overlooked and I’m happy that in recent years more people have embraced it. Plus it does have the single greatest jingle in film history!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Some great choices in here and some I hadn’t even thought about checking out!

    Like

    Reply
  5. While I liked the doc not EVERY great hardcore band was featured in American Hardcore. I thought the omission of the The Dead Kennedys and Misfits kind of left me scratching my head. While Jello certainly has his haters… no love for Danzig?

    Speaking of Twin Peaks recently I just saw the episode of TV’s PSYCH, entitled “Dual Spires”, that pays homage to Twin Peaks. Lynch actually gave his blessing on it. Absolutely essential viewing for any Twin Peaks fan. Be ready to have a nerdgasm…. I know I did. I had to explain all the references (There were so many references that the show was 7 minutes longer than usual plus 6 more minutes were added to the DVD release) to my younger girlfriend and even I didn’t catch them all. LOL. Netflix it.

    Like

    Reply
    • That episode of Psych was fantastic. Besides all the references, having so many of the Twin Peaks cast in it made it golden.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Good picks with Taxi Driver and Seven Samurai. They’re two of my favorites as well.

    Like

    Reply
  7. wonderful list… i like the taxi driver, very much so… happy yuletide! warm regards to you and the family 🙂 ~ San

    Like

    Reply
  8. Awesome list! The Raid is a great one and it definitely will help in releasing all the frustration from being stranded..haha!

    Like

    Reply
  9. Great inclusion of twin Peaks there. Love that film and the show. Nice one.

    Like

    Reply
  10. Victor De Leon

     /  December 13, 2012

    nice list! glad to see H3 Season of the Witch up there. I have JC’s amazing score on my iPod and it’s just epic. Atkins kicks ass in H3 too. very cool pick. good job! thanks. 😀

    Like

    Reply
  11. 1, 2, 8, great choices. Nice to see the underrated Halloween III get some love.

    Like

    Reply
  12. It’s great to see everyone giving Halloween III the love it deserves! Thanks everybody!

    Like

    Reply
  13. Fantastic post. Even if I wouldn’t take most of these with me to an island, the arguments are great.

    Like

    Reply
  14. Love this idea for a feature. Also liking the rationale behind picking The Raid: Redemption. Who doesn’t want to wield fluorescent light bulbs with lethal accuracy!?

    Like

    Reply
  15. Reblogged this on Basement Screams and commented:
    Back in December I was privileged to take part in the Desert Island Films series on Head In A Vice. I figured I’d reblog the post here on the site for those who missed it over there. Head In A Vice is a great site, and Tyson who runs it is a top-notch guy so I strongly urge everyone to go check the site out. But before you do, check out what films I’ll be watching before I plunge myself into the ocean! Cheers.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

