A Call To Arms: Part 2

social-networking-logos

Wow!! What a response to my initial Call To Arms! THANKYOU, and it seems I was right to think people would want more views to their site! Ultimately, we all want to be heard and read, that’s why we do this blogging thing. The reaction has been amazing, and I want to give you an update and offer up some feedback from the past couple of days.

I figure that you could play this song as background music if you like, since it inspired me with the name for this project, and one of my favourite bands! πŸ™‚

Or not. Moving on! πŸ˜›

Way more people than I could have dreamed of supported and helped out with this project, and I hope this is just the beginning! I am here now to share with you some findings from these experiments, and to offer up some ideas of how to take this further.

A lot of you shared my links on various places, and like Santa I have spent the past two nights going through your sites sharing your links all over the internet. I tried to leave comments on places I had been, but none of you miserable kids left me cookies and milk! I have heard from quite a lot of you, either on comments somewhere or messages, how this sharing worked for you. Bear in mind it has only been a couple of days trialling it. I know some people got hardly any extra views from it. I also know people got double or more visitors than they normally do from just one shared link! Which is amazing, and it shows we can make a difference to each other. If that traffic surge was caused by just me sharing your work, imagine if 5 people did it, or 10?

social-media-tips-woordle-resized-600

It does seem very hit and miss as to who gets extra traffic, and from which sites. From my personal experience, Reddit was my biggest help. I shared two of my own links this morning for Se7en & Blade Runner, and each post got over 150 views each. From other people sharing, Dawning shared my Imposter review, and Terry Malloy posted my Psycho review, and that brought in over 50 views on each post. Others who shared brought in 15-20, and some were 1 or 2. As I say, it seems random, could be time related, or just the name of a film. I don’t know, but if that can come from just 1 share, in my experience Reddit has been the most beneficial.

StumbleUpon hasn’t quite brought me the 1000+ views people such as Fogs & Mike have received from it. However, each day I would estimate around 100 views have come from links on Stumble, so again, it’s definitely a site I would want to continue using.

I know that me sharing people’s posts on Twitter has brought them in extra views, and I want to carry that on but I do use Twitter a lot anyway. It’s not really a new sharing method for me as such, so whilst I do want to recommend it and continue to do it, it’s really been about trialling the other methods. Plus, no one shares on Twitter as much as Le0pard, I know he always shares everyone’s posts on there, so a huge thank you to you my friend!

That’s just a sampling of my stats from this experiment. I have also shared my stuff and other peoples on LinkedIn, Google+ and Digg, but I have had maybe 1 or 2 views from each. Still going to monitor them. Whilst I have some of your stats, I didn’t want to announce them on here. For those who don’t mind, please let me (us) know in the comments section if any of the links I shared worked for you, and which ones in particular. I want to continue this long-term (more on that in a second) but I will post a part 3, final analysis so to speak of this series on Sunday. Until then, I still want to monitor it. As well as sharing your stats, please feel free to go through my A-Z of reviews on the homepage, pick something that isn’t in my Top 10 most viewed, and share it wherever you fancy. It makes it easy for me to monitor it then. Of course, I will head over to your site again and do the same for you, and then wait to hear how it works out for you andΒ whichΒ methods have brought you the most views. And like a good Santa I always visit you all!! πŸ™‚

Wow+a+funny+comment+in+the+middle+of+a+religion+_dbd9f27fb55da41aba829f52ca3d010a

Ultimately, I hope with a couple more days of this, I can post the final part and show you statistics and hopefully report that this has worked and brought in lots of views for all of our sites. The aim long-term would be to form some kind of group/following/weird sharing posse that would always take that extra couple of seconds and share each new post one of the group makes. If this is happening from one person sharing a link, I feel that if we just get 5 in a group for example, that always just automatically shares new links on Reddit, Stumble etc, we could all benefit. If you have a good idea how we could implement it, or would be interested in doing something permanently to help your fellow bloggers, shout out, I’m all ears! A Facebook group is my favourite plan so far.

I know it’s a lot of writing, but I want to finish off with a link to a walk through to try and help even just one person a little bit more. I recently added my site to the main search engines, and you can actually link your WordPress account to them, supposedly helping you in the search engine algorithms. No idea if it will benefit anyone straight away, but hopefully long-term it will. You may have already done it, but for those thatΒ haven’tΒ  here is a simple step by step guide on how to add your site. I hope it helps.

http://en.support.wordpress.com/webmaster-tools/

Thanks again for reading, and being part of this. I’ve had so many messages of thanks and support, I’m genuinely touched by all the kind words, and I’m glad this little project is helping anyone. πŸ™‚

Previous Post
Leave a comment

66 Comments

  1. did you have any luck sharing any of my stuff? I am going to share this post now so let me know if it shows in referrals.

    Like

    Reply
    • Yeah I did it for The Campaign, shared on them all apart from Reddit. I’ll try it on another one a little later and post on your site. Cheers buddy πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  2. Awesome results, Tyson. Thanks for the kind words, as well πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  3. We had a new personal best for views yesterday! My god it’s working!! Count us in on anything having to do with this Sharing is Caring operation. Even if it’s Drive-related!

    Like

    Reply
    • Consider yourself a member!! Ill refrain from calling us anything Drive related!! Glad it’s working, ill do it again later πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  4. I had done some research into Reddit because it was a bit weird and I found that it was just that you can’t post and they stop you from posting too often. Or they say that you are new or the links aren’t doing well so it stops you from posting too much. I’m still trying to understand how that site works. Although I did end up posting up my Zombieland review and it went crazy on views. Baking post did alright as well. Apparently some forums say that its very time based, you have to post up during their peak times but when are the Reddit peak times? Hmm…

    Stumble didn’t do as well though. Maybe got me about 5 views. Nothing too crazy but I like the setup of that one. I ended up discovering more sites that I like more than actually getting any views from it but still, its a nice discovery. More understanding for that one also.

    As for your posse idea, I’d say Facebook group probably might be the best way to go since you have a huge group of people connected to you there. But then I’m really bad with technology so maybe there are better options out there πŸ˜›

    Awesome project Tyson! I’ll continue sharing your posts on StumbleUpon and I’ll try to backtrack to your less popular posts and see if it can help you out with tracking the results better! As for Reddit, I’m hoping that it’ll let me post more links than the 1 or 2 I get there but I will post there as well πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    • Excellent post Kim, thanks for the results!!

      I’ll be by to share some of your stuff later so we can keep testing! Glad it’s working πŸ™‚ Thankyou!!!!!!

      Like

      Reply
  5. 1000+ views???? Geez, I’m happy when I get 100 views a day, those are some serious numbers.

    Like

    Reply
  6. I haven’t noticed much of a change in my views but I’m completely behind this as an idea. Looking forward to reading the final post πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  7. Hi Tyson, I just shared a link to the Nosferatu Review on Twitter, Facebook and Stumbleupon (though to be honest, Stumbleupon isn’t too kind to horror reviews or the horror genre in general).

    I also added your Call to Arms post to my Google+ account, I hope this helps you.

    I appreciate any help you can send my way, and I’m glad that you start this call to action, as I haven’t come across any information as to the latest Google algorithm changes.

    Another thing to consider: Google has decided that webpages need an AuthorRank, which is used to determine whether or not you are an authority on a subject or a spammer. To set up AuthorRank, you need a Google+ profile linked to your website, and you need to be active on Google+. AuthorRank is included and used to determine page rank, or where your page appears in the search.

    Like

    Reply
    • They are trying to control the Internet and if we keep doing whatever they want, they will succeed.

      Like

      Reply
      • Unless they change the images back there isn’t a lot anyone can do…….I hope these petitions to return it back the way it was work though 😦

        Like

        Reply
    • Thank you for all that info Cassie, great post!! I will be sure to stop by your site, ill comment and let you know what I did.

      I will look into the author rank, thank you for mentioning that! πŸ™‚ also the horror stuff, more to think about! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  8. I’ve shared your links in my blog, on Facebook, Linked In, Stumble, Pinterest, and Twitter. I do it anyway if I like someone’s stuff. It costs nothing and it helps, so why not? For reasons I don’t understand, Reddit rejects everything I submit. No, I don’t know why, so if you can submit any of my links, I’d appreciate it. Just not a reblog, please πŸ™‚ Right now, my numbers are a bit higher than usual, but except for a few hours, they never dropped. My number flucuate quite a bit anyhow, about 25% up/down, sometimes more. I rarely know why. Except for that silly piece on “Criminal Minds” which gets 500 to 1000 hits a week and has for months. I don’t understand it.

    The larger issue: Google is making a bid to grab control of a big chunk of the Internet. This goes beyond keeping our numbers up. It is about who will own the Internet, the world where we do all this cool fun stuff. If corporations find a way to control cyber-space, it won’t be free, not literally or figuratively. We’ll be looking back fondly on this period as “the good old days” when we could do whatever you wanted without it costing money. I’m trying to get local media to pay attention, but it isn’t a particularly “sexy” story & there’s a blizzard on the way. Hard to get anyone’s attention in New England if there’s weather. Everyone is out panicking, buying salt, snow shovels, and supplies in case the power goes out. Bad timing for me.

    Garry gave me a couple of addresses of colleagues still active in news who have the wit to know a story when they see one. Maybe they will help.

    Meanwhile, keep up the good work! Illegitimi non carborumdum!!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thankyou for the sharing, I will of course stop by and return the favour.

      I hear what your saying about the larger issue. All we can do is the best we can with what we have. Be interested to hear if anything comes from Garry’s contacts. πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  9. It’s only been about 4 hours since you shared The Creeping Terror on Stumble and Reddit, but as far as I can tell, I’ve received 10 views so far. Which is about nine more than I usually get.

    And who’s getting 1,000 visits per day? What, are they posting photos of Lori Loughlin with their reviews?

    Nice song, too!

    Like

    Reply
    • Well, 10 is a start! With a few of us doing it, potential is there Todd!! πŸ™‚ no idea why some have had 1000’s, but maybe you will hit that jackpot next time! Ill stop by and do another post for you.

      Glad you liked the song! Cheers dude πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
      • Sounds like a plan…I’m totally on-board with it, so we’ll see where it leads us! I’ve just added the buttons back to all my main page posts, and I’ll continue to send your reviews over to Stumble!

        Like

        Reply
        • Cheers Todd. Definitely need to get you using Reddit, maybe between you and your 2 partners all posting your link to Reddit would really help you!

          Glad to have you on board, ill be by to share again soon!!

          Like

  10. I apologise for not being too productive but I support this cause. I shared one of Tyson’s pages on Stumbleupon and .I think Tyson may have retweeted one my links in return. Not sure if it helped either way, but it’s early days yet and as we’ve learned Internet users are a fickle lot! πŸ˜›

    Like

    Reply
  11. It didn’t really work for me man but then, I didn’t get much at all when I shared my own stuff. It’s just your luck I suppose.

    Still, it’s a great idea that I will continue to do. My biggest days for views last year was over 1500 in one day and I’m sure that was Reddit that done that so it will cough at some point.

    Like

    Reply
    • Does appear to be about luck and time of day. Midnight has been the most popular for me. Glad your still with me on this man, we will strive to continue!! Cheers πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  12. My Frankenweenie review got about 25 views today thanks to you sharing it, which isn’t massive amounts but it’s 25 views I wouldn’t have otherwise got, so cheers for doing that mate. I think the key with Reddit, as with blogging in general, is to create stuff that instantly grabs someone’s attention. It’s definitely an ADHD medium. I’ll check out StumbleUpon as well and see how that goes.

    Like

    Reply
    • As you say, it’s views you otherwise wouldnt of got, the same with you sharing my review, I was grateful for those views. My whole point is just getting even a few of us to it, then if 5 of us had shared your review you have more chances! Cheers dude πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  13. Love this idea! Also has the added bonus of forcing myself to actually understand how all these sorts of sites work, instead of just ignoring them in the style of a grumpy old luddite! I have shared your Wrong Turn 1-4 review on reddit, and your Saw review on Stumbleupon hope you get some hits πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    • Thankyou for the shares, I will stop by and do the same! Glad your forcing yourself to learn new things! πŸ™‚

      Appreciate you getting into the spirit of this, cheers! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  14. I didn’t get a ton of traffic, but I was happy with what I got (about 20 views for the post you shared). I’ll definitely keep sharing your stuff, and am about to tweet out one of your reviews now. πŸ˜€

    Like

    Reply
    • Hey, good to hear it gave you some at least!! Backs up my theory that with a few of us it should help. Ill stick your name down for the gang then yeah?! πŸ˜‰

      Cheers William πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  15. I’ll be way more gung-ho about this kind of thing once I finish moving my blog over to WordPress. But I’ve taken to sharing posts from any blog on Reddit a lot, and people are certainly looking at them and even commenting back on there. So, once I’ve migrated, I’ll be ready to kick ass.

    Like

    Reply
    • Looking forward to you getting set up and going gung ho with me on this Phobos!! As a new site in theory this should help you get a good start viewers wise. I hope! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  16. So for stats I had 17 views and I did get a couple more followers. I’m pleased with that.

    Like

    Reply
    • Cool, well its a good start!! Time of day and different methods bring different results, but again if a few people were sharing the link rather than just me, it would be beneficial right!?

      Thanks for the update, I’ll do it again for another of your posts πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  17. Any luck finding / joining the FB group, Tyson? I’m hoping it can be as simple as typing Scratch a Writer into the ‘search for people, places and things’ box at the top of FB. When my son tried that, it worked for him. (He’s a good guinea pig.) Alternatively, the link looks like this:
    http://www.facebook.com/groups/119478498231489/

    From there it’s a matter of requesting to join. Once approved, a member can read the rules, edit a doc that shows everyone’s social platform info, post a request for promotion, and pick a couple of posts to promote.

    Should be simple.

    Like

    Reply
  18. I’m a defense-first kind of blogger. I live in my own world and don’t venture out of the zone too much, but when someone comes into my space (like you did by following), I check’em out and if it’s interesting (like people talking movies), I follow back. I have their posts emailed to me, and when I care, I leave a comment. I’ve noticed that commenting on other WordPress blogs has brought in some views/fans/followers of my ow stuff, which is predominantly art based on hockey, food, comics, along with the random movie review.

    So thanks for the follow, because you got yourself a new reader!

    Like

    Reply
  19. One thing to remember, about images we upload to our sites, is that the naming of each image is important. Be consistent with how you name images & within that name put your site url, but with a dash instead of a period. Example: image_of_weasel_puta.wordpress-com_01jan13.gif . It’s an old trick. If you forget to name as such, visit your media library & physically rename the file, doing so shouldn’t affect the post/page it’s attached to. Naming consistency also takes away from that extra need to think when naming an image.
    It’s very unfair of Google to not count site its as image views. I used to defend & cheer on Google, especially with its chronic litigation in Europe. No more!

    Like

    Reply
    • Never thought about putting the url in there, mainly because I get my images from IMDB normally. Thanks for this Marc, great advice.

      And yeah, crappy move from google this, I really should do more with these petitions going round to try getting them to change it back.

      Like

      Reply
  20. Well done Tyson!! Do you have any tips for sharing on Reddit?? I’ve tried twice but to no avail. Maybe I’m not doing it properly. Thanks for this post, of course we all want to be heard (or read I should say) as we spent our energy working on our posts.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks Ruth!

      No tips as such, I think its luck, but time of day helps. Midnight here seems to work for me, then late afternoon. Over 300 today from Reddit alone. No idea why but its working. Good to hear others are benefiting too, makes all this shouting and posting worthwhile πŸ™‚

      I will find something on your site later near midnight, Ill post it on Reddit and see if it helps you at all. Just let me know if you see any improvement. πŸ˜›

      Like

      Reply
  21. Ok, I’ve submitted this post to Reddit as a couple other reviews I was gonna submit has already been done. Btw, the post I did submitted earlier (the Richard III one) has gotten over 50 hits so far within the first hour, so it must be working. Let’s see how it goes if you submit the Five for the Fifth one tonight. Thanks Ty!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thankyou, and thats great about your other post!!! My main issue with Reddit is they do deny a lot of my links, I have to try again later, or try a different username. Also get some pretty mean comments on reviews (mine & guest ones so I wont share them!) but still worth it for those views that turn into regular visits. I’ll be in touch when it lets me post yours later πŸ˜›

      Like

      Reply
  22. Didn’t see any change in my stats after you shared one of my Wes Anderson posts, but I’m definitely willing to give it another go. I shared your review of “Love” on Twitter and StumbleUpon. Again, I love that you’re posting these and making an effort to help everyone out. I still haven’t added the Reddit and Digg buttons to my site, so don’t worry about them.

    Like

    Reply
  23. So, I have added a Reddit and StumbleUpon buttons to my site’s post footers. Hopefully this will do some stuff. Oddly, I tried adding a Digg button, but it just refuses to show up. Oh well. Now, I am going to start sharing other peoples posts and see what happens.

    Like

    Reply
    • Digg has brought me in nothing so far so Im more or less giving up on that one. Ill stop by and try one of your other posts though buddy.

      Like

      Reply
  24. If anyone cares, this is the one post I would want shared more than any other right now. http://themostbeautifulfraudintheworld.blogspot.com/2013/02/what-film-should-win-best-picture-oscar.html – whichever way one wishes to share. It is my Oscar Poll, and I am hoping to get lots of votes before it ends.

    Like

    Reply
  25. Just an FYI for everyone with Reddit. Not sure if this has been covered. But I just tried to share Tyson’s Black Swan Review. And saw that it was already submitted to Reddit. In those instances, it’s better to click the ‘up’ arrow beside the already submitted link on Reddit, than to resubmit the same link again.

    The ‘up’ arrows is similar to ‘like’ on Reddit. The higher the likes of a link, the more it’ll climb on the homepage of that category or sub reddit, making it more visible to people following that sub reddit. That’s how I understand it anyways.

    Thought everyone should know.

    Like

    Reply
    • Oh….. Is that what that means?!?! Good to know, thanks very much Shah! And for sharing the link, obviously!

      Funnily enough I shared Moonrise Kingdom earlier and it said you had already done it. πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  26. Yep, I use Reddit a lot. But I’ve found that with most Social Networking sites like that, you have to submit links other than your own, as much as you do your own.

    So because of you, I’m going to make it a habit to promote my fellow Bloggers work, as much as I do mine own. Thanks Tyson!

    *flashes cheesy testimonial / informercial smile*
    You changed my life!

    Like

    Reply
    • Yeah I’ve been trying to use other links too, seems to work ok. Get some rude comments about reviews over there though!! Lol

      Glad the message is working Shah, a great help you’re being!! Sharing is caring!

      Cheers dude :p

      Like

      Reply
  1. What Google Did — Undid — and Why | Serendipity
  2. Call To Arms: The Results Show | Head In A Vice

Leave a Reply

  • RECENT POSTS :

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Daily Top 10 Most Viewed

  • Every Movie Reviewed A-Z

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Most Used Tags

  • Random Cool Sites

  • Meta