Desert Island Films: Lawrie Brewster

desert island plain

I have a special edition of the Desert Island Films project for you today. As part of a new feature for my site called Promoting Horror, I am going to be offering up the Desert Island thoughts and choices of a few very cool film-makers who I have been lucky enough to have been approached by. Quite literally a directors cut if you like. Today’s castaway is Lawrie Brewster (IMDb profile), director of upcoming movie Lord of Tears.

Later on today I will be posting a lot more details about Lawrie & his movie, but for now I’m going to offer up a plot synopsis and incredibly cool movie poster to whet your appetite, and of course share Lawrie’s desert island choices with you.

The movie I will be helping promote today is called Lord of Tears. I’ll let Lawrie give you the plot and then check out the cool poster, if that doesn’t have you excited for more details then there is something wrong with you!

Lord of Tears is a British Chiller in the classic tradition of films such as The Wickerman, The Innocents and The Haunting. Our story concerns a man trapped in a crumbling mansion, stalked by an Owl Headed monster in the misty highlands of Scotland, on a mission to piece together a childhood broken apart by repressed memory and dark secrets.

Lord of Tears movie poster

Below are the rules of the island, and Lawrie’s choices:

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

Desert Island Films: Lawrie Brewster

Interestingly I think the best horror films are not inspired by other horror films, and so while horror films forms 90% of the movies I enjoy the most to watch – there not mostly in my top 8!

1) Ikiru

ikiru

2) Redbeard

red beard

3) The Devils

the devils

4) The Music Lovers

the music lovers

5) The Wicker Man

wicker man

6) The Innocents

the innocents

7) The Holy Mountain

the holy mountain

8) A Tale of Two Sisters

A Tale of two sisters

Book – Wuthering Heights

wuthering heights book

My luxury item would be Aromatic Duck pancakes! (That or a fine bottle of Rum!)

*************************************************************************************************

I hope you all enjoyed seeing Lawrie’s choices, and please show him some love in the comments below. Stay tuned, as later today (two posts in a day, crazy I know) I will be sharing lots more details about Lord of Tears, including a trailer, exclusive images from the movie and a video of Lawrie working on a previous project with Channing Tatum & Joseph Gordon-Levitt!!

Leave a comment

39 Comments

  1. Lawrie – thank you so much for doing this!! Some great choices, and slightly more obscure than the usual choices we get! Looking forward to sharing more details with people a little later on 😛

    Like

    Reply
  2. I have of exactly one of these films 🙂 But plenty there to check out, this is what I like about this series, finding new stuff other people love! Good work guys!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Carly

     /  February 28, 2013

    Looking forward to Channing!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Nice picks! Love the poster for Lord of Tears….sweet.

    Like

    Reply
  5. The Devils, The Innocents, and A Tale of Two Sisters are all great choices!

    Like

    Reply
  6. What a great a diverse list of films. Of course Tale of Two Sisters would have to be included! I wish I’d thought of that one… 😀

    Like

    Reply
  7. kloipy

     /  February 28, 2013

    Holy Mountain! Hell Yeah! One of my favorites. And that Owl picture is badass

    Like

    Reply
  8. Wordschat

     /  February 28, 2013

    As I’m getting more into horror films as opposed to books of my youth this looks good. With this casting it will draw in commercial success. Look forward to it.

    Like

    Reply
    • The Channing & Joesph video is of a previous project, they don’t appear in the movie we will be talking about later! I apologise for my wording getting you excited buddy! 😛

      Like

      Reply
  9. OK, I’ll ask: what are Aromatic Duck pancakes?

    Like

    Reply
  10. theipc

     /  February 28, 2013

    GREAT post guys!!!

    Lawrie – that poster for your movie is fucking wicked!!! I’d like to hang one of those on my office wall!!!

    Like

    Reply
  11. Wow, that poster for Lord of Tears is terrifying! I’m already imagining the monster lurking under my bed. That’s so awesome.

    Like

    Reply
  12. Not only is this an interesting selection for the island but the movie he is doing sounds really sweet especially accompanied by the cool poster! I look forward to hearing more about it!

    Like

    Reply
  13. I loved the trailer for his movie and one of these days, once everything settles at work, I’ll do a preview on my blog. Yay.

    Like

    Reply
  14. HAHA. I love all the horror movies and then BAM! Wuthering Heights.

    Like

    Reply
  15. Wow, these ares some interesting choices! I have not seen a single one…..*writes down names for later viewing*

    Like

    Reply
  16. Interesting choices. I’m not familiar with these movies but A Tale of Two Sisters looks like it might be good to watch…for some reason it reminds me of a suspense/thriller book about twin sisters that my cousin read many years ago. I was too scared to read the book, so I just let her brief me on the chapters as she finished them, lol. I’d be game to watch Red Beard too, mostly based on the fact that it’s a Kurosawa flick! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  17. Hell yes to A Tale of Two Sisters! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  18. A lot of great choices. Ikiru is a fantastic movie.

    Like

    Reply
  1. Promoting Horror: Lord of Tears | Head In A Vice
  2. Sultan’s Kickstarter Picks: Lord of Tears by Lawrie Brewster | Sultan Saeed Al Darmaki

Leave a Reply

