Desert Island Films: Where The Wild Things Are

desert island plain

Abbi from Where The Wild Things Are has kindly submitted her Desert Island Films. Read on for her choices and reasons, and be sure to check out her site.

*************************************************************************************************

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

*************************************************************************************************

Everything is Illuminated

everything is illuminated

This half English-half Ukranian indie gem is one of the rare films that I enjoyed more than the book – way more than the book. With themes of culture clash, generational clash and perception versus reality, it has both humour and heart. I use it as my litmus test to determine whether someone is worth hanging out with or not. Let’s just say if my husband hadn’t have liked this, we wouldn’t have gotten married. It also has a sound track provided by Gogol Bordello, so music and cinema rolled into one.

10 Things I Hate About You

10 things i hate about you

I really don’t like rom coms but somehow I end up watching this over and over and over again. I’m not sure if it’s because the female characters are actually pretty kickass for a change or if it’s the awesome soundtrack or just the snappy dialogue but it takes me right back to being eighteen, which is what I was when it came out.

Fight Club

fight club

I credit Fight Club with introducing me to Chuck Palahuniuk and his interesting way of seeing the world. Despite the fact that I now know exactly what is going to happen, I find new little tells and hints every time I watch it. Good for keeping the mind busy on the island.

Empire Records

empire records

Five words: Not on Rex Manning Day! Empire Records is so predictable but also so wonderfully 90’s ironic. If I need cheering up on my island I know Mark (with a K) is definitely going to be the person to do it.

Lawless

LawlessPoster23

I watch a lot of movies so it’s rare for me to have as visceral a reaction to one as I had to Lawless. I saw it twice in the space of a week and I think I could quite happily watch it on an almost daily basis. I think Forrest Bondurant is probably one of my top five favourite film characters of all time.

Moulin Rouge

moulin rouge

What I love about Baz Luhrman is that he provides such a vivid escape from reality, which I can imagine will be required after one too many coconuts. I am also always guaranteed a good cry at the end of this one. I like my love stories with a sad ending.

Breakfast at Tiffanys

Breakfast_at_Tiffanys

Although the ending is a massive cop out compared to the book, Audrey Hepburn is so luminious in this that she manages to sell it and it’s a reminder that no matter how horrible things are, it’s always possible to find a silver lining.

My Neighbour Totoro

my neighbour totoro

Best kids film ever. As I’ll be missing my family and friends on the island, I’d like to have something that reminds me of just how important family and friends are. Also a life without ever seeing the Catbus again is just not worth contemplating.

Book:

SherlockHolmes

The Complete Sherlock Holmes – I never get tired of Sherlock and there are so many of them by the time you get to the end, you’ve already forgotten what happened in the beginning mysteries.

Luxury item: Sunscreen. It takes me about 4 minutes to incinerate. I’d like to be able to leave shade occasionally.

*************************************************************************************************

Thanks again to Abbi for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice ”castaway” list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to THIS LIST, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

*************************************************************************************************

Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. Thanks again for doing this Abbi! Great choices, especially the Fight Club love. Apologies you had to wait so long, hope it was worth it!!! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Abbi

       /  March 2, 2013

      So cool to see it live. Who doesn’t love Fight Club? I will challenge them to a duel? Also if there could have been a ninth film it would have been Princess Bride in case anyone is wondering.

      Like

      Reply
      • Lots of love for Princess Bride. I have a guest review for that going up very soon actually. Not my cup of tea but its a well loved film 🙂

        Like

        Reply
  2. Great and interesting choices. I love the book choice! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Abbi

     /  March 2, 2013

    Reblogged this on Where The Wild Things Are and commented:
    Lookit! I’ve been featured on Head In A Vice’s Desert Island films. Check out the 8 movies I’d take with me if I were marooned on an island.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Some pretty good choices here, especially Fight Club. Chuck Palahniuk is such an interesting person.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Excellent, excellent choices! Very happy to see Empire on here! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Abbi

       /  March 2, 2013

      I’ve probably seen it about 40 times. It always cracks me up. Damn the man! Save the Empire!

      Like

      Reply
  6. I really like your choice of ‘Everything is Illuminated’. I rather enjoyed that film and has gone under the radar. Good picks, well done.

    Like

    Reply
    • Abbi

       /  March 2, 2013

      Thanks. It’s my favourite film of all time. I randomly watched it on a plane, which landed before it finished. I then had to wait months for it to come out on DVD before I could see the last half hour. I’ve lost track of how many people I’ve bought it for.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Great list, Fight Club has got to be getting up there with the most popular choices, and I am totally cool with that!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Great choices! Totoro, Moulin Rouge, Breakfast at Tiffany`s…Love it! And you even brought Sherlock Holmes…his adventures are also awesome 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  9. Fine choices! It’s great to hear some love for Lawless and Everything is Illuminated is a film I’ve often wondered about. I’ll be checking that out now.

    Like

    Reply
    • Abbi

       /  March 3, 2013

      It’s really something special, especially if you like a bit of symbolism with your films.

      Like

      Reply
  10. LOVE your picks, esp Moulin Rouge! I actually saw Everything is Illuminated at TIFF on the big screen. It was rather odd and quite heartbreaking. I wonder if Liev Schreiber ever made another film.

    Like

    Reply
    • Abbi

       /  March 3, 2013

      Thanks! I don’t think he did. Which is a pity because I think he’s probably a better director than an actor.

      Like

      Reply
  11. gregory moss

     /  March 3, 2013

    Always great to see Fight Club on a list. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Abbi

       /  March 3, 2013

      You’ve got to have fight club! Any film that I can still remember walking out of the cinema thinking “mind blown” about from more than a decade about is a winner.

      Like

      Reply
  12. Nice picks.

    Like

    Reply
  13. Some great choices here – seems like I need to get hold of Everything is Illuminated then, thanks for bringing it to my attention! 😀

    Like

    Reply
  14. Wordschat

     /  March 3, 2013

    I like your choices. Some odd ball characters and classics. A nice desert island escape.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

