Desert Island Films: Hard Ticket to Home Video

Desert Island Films

Brian from Hard Ticket to Home Video has kindly submitted his Desert Island Films. Read on for his choices and reasons, and be sure to check out his site.

page-divider 2

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

page-divider 2

Desert Island Films: Brian from Hard Ticket to Home Video

1. The Return of the Living Dead

the-return-of-the-living-dead-poster

My favorite movie of all time. A perfect mix of horror, comedy, punk and Clu Gulager. Should help me when the island’s zombies rise up against me, which they inevitably will.

2. North Shore

1987-north-shore-poster1

Probably the movie that makes me feel happiest when I watch it. Plus, I can pick up some invaluable surfing tips for the surfboard I make out of driftwood and monkey tails. And Chandler will most likely be my spirit guide on the island.

3. Hard Ticket to Hawaii

hard_ticket_to_hawaii_poster_01

The lush tropical setting will inspire my to appreciate my own environment, and the movie is also a valuable resource for deadly with giant, deadly, toxic snakes. And as a bonus, for the lonely nights, ample nudity.

4. American Movie

american-movie-the-making-of-northwestern-movie-poster-1999-1020253789

To me, the most re-watchable movie ever. It will also inspire me to better my situation, if only to fall short. But it may make me long for beer a little too much…

5. Black Dynamite

black-dynamite-poster

Currently my favorite comedy, and I’ll need to laugh (to drown out the laughter of the island’s ghosts), but could be replaced on a whim by Slap Shot or Used Cars.

6. Back to the Future

1042136_1338502851356_full

I’ve probably seen this movie more than any other movie in my life, and they say continuity in isolation is important. Or maybe I just made that up. Either way, I plan to build a time machine out of monkey tails and the tide.

7. Finding Nemo

514gqbavD5L._SX500_

Because this is my daughter’s favorite movie, so I could watch it and remember all the fun times we had watching it together. Plus, it will help me to remember which fish are poisonous, and which fish talk. Answer: ALL OF THEM. AND THEY ALL SCREAM.

8. Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars: The Motion Picture

3313910910_5ae1f3befa_o

I’ll want to listen to some music while I’m doing my island chores like counting sand and cutting off monkey tails, so my favorite concert from my favorite musician makes sense.

Book: Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

fearand oathingcover

This book literally changed my life, because after I read it I switched my college major to journalism. And I’ve regretted it ever since… But this book never fails to entertain me. One of the few books I’ve read more than once. Plus, the detailed drug use will be helpful when I’m out of my mind on some weird island plant I tried to eat.

Luxury Item: Rambo Knife

RamboSurvivalKnife

I had a knock-off version of one of these bad boys when I was a kid, and even though it was duller than an Irishman’s shoe, it was still awesome. It has everything you need in a survival situation: blade, compass, matches, fishing line, flint and one (1) Band-Aid! With this knife, I’ll not only survive, but thrive, and look totally badass doing it. Most importantly, what else am I going to use to cut off monkey tails?

page-divider 2

Thanks again to Brian for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice castaway list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to THIS LIST, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

page-divider 2

Previous Post
Leave a comment

33 Comments

  1. Thanks for letting me participate, but this list makes no sense.

    Like

    Reply
  2. that is one varied list, very unique! 😉

    Like

    Reply
  3. Reblogged this on Hard Ticket to Home Video and commented:
    This being stranded on a desert island thing just can’t come soon enough…

    Like

    Reply
    • It’s happening. Make sure you say your goodbyes to your loved ones. They told me they wont miss you. Thanks for the re-blog 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. theipc

     /  April 22, 2013

    I’m sending this link to PETA!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Love this list, and your reasons for each of the films! Sounds like you’ll have a pretty good chance of survival on this desert island. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  6. This episode of Desert Island Films doesn’t have any of what I’d call my most favorite movies (not that I hate those I’ve seen) but it does have some of the best rationalizations for why you’d choose these. I’m definitely going to watch North Shore soon, because being happy sounds good.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Some good (and interesting) choices here! Poor monkies though…

    Like

    Reply
  8. You’ve got all the basics covered: zombies, time travel, nunchucks, and pixar. You’re all set for an excellent excursion!

    Like

    Reply
  9. P.S. Tyson, I really like this facelift you’ve given your site! It looks great and I like the bigger font. Sometimes that white text on a dark background was a struggle for me.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks!! Only just noticed eh! You need to visit me more 😉

      But yeah, it was a long time coming and the response has been great for the new look. Change is always good right!? Cheers 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      • lol, I’ve noticed the progressive changes but I’ve only gotten around to commenting on them now. But I continue to visit as always! I never miss a head in the vice review. The new Desert Island Films logo is cool too, did you design it yourself?

        Like

        Reply
        • Haha, glad to hear it!! Thanks 😉

          Nope, my man Chris aka Film Hipster designed it, along with the site banner and new movie score ratings. And Promoting Horror logo. Basically anything that looks cool image wise, he did it!! He does amazing work and I’m sure he rues the day he offered his help 🙂

          Like

  10. A very nice choice in taking Back to the Future!

    Like

    Reply
  11. You’re the first person I’ve ever known who’s seen ‘American Movie’ besides myself. A hilarious must-see for filmmakers…or anyone, for that matter. Including, apparently, guys on islands with primate infestations.

    Like

    Reply
  12. Love your reasoning for Fear and Loathing! One of my all-time favorite books, too.

    Like

    Reply
  13. Used Cars! Fear And Loathing! – Nazi Monkey Tails! Great Stuff, Brian. Certainly one of the more amusing Desert Island lists thus far. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  14. If I had to picture what you looked like in real life Brian I would imagine you as a white surfer dude with a really big afro that where’s lots of KISS style studded bracelets that may or may not have a bayonet in his pocket. Am I correct?

    Like

    Reply
  15. Bowie!!! Awesome! 😀 And I’m loving the Back to the Future & Finding Nemo choices because I’m very mainstream. Return of the Living Dead is good too. Interesting list. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  1. Iron Man 3, 100% & Shitfest 2013 | filmhipster

Leave a Reply

