Desert Island Films #67 – The Cinematic Frontier

Desert Island Films

Filmscorehunter from The Cinematic Frontier kindly submitted his Desert Island Films. Read on for his choices and reasons, and be sure to check out his site.

page-divider 2

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

page-divider 2

1d72c16ca09dc0921e98cb74b773ede8

Desert Island Films: The Cinematic Frontier

Cast Away

castaway

A no-brainer, I would think. It’s a terrific film about a man who survives on an island for a long period of time and eventually gets back to civilization. Oh, and seeing this would remind me to avoid creating people out of inanimate objects.

The Edge

the edge

You can’t go wrong with this engaging thriller with two great performances from Alec Baldwin and Anthony Hopkins. Oh, and I’ll be reminded that at least I’m not freezing my butt off in the wilderness and trying to escape the clutches of a giant bear that wants to eat me.

The Grey

the grey

A great Liam Neeson performance in a thrilling film about faith, redemption, and survival, need I say more? Oh, and I’ll be reminded that at least I’m not freezing my butt off in the wilderness and trying to escape the clutches of many wolves that want to tear to shreds and eat me.

First Blood

first blood

A terrific Sylvester Stallone film that deals with a psychologically wounded Vietnam vet that never wears out its welcome. Oh, and I’ll be reminded that at least I’m not freezing my butt off in the wilderness and trying to escape the clutches of law enforcement officers who have nothing better to do than to harass wrongly-arrested war heroes.

The Thief of Bagdad (1924)

the thief of bagdad

A magical, entertaining 2 1/2 hour film that leaves you wanting more. An engaging story and wondrous special effects will keep me watching again and again. If I’m going to bring just one silent film, it would be this one.

Edward Scissorhands

edward scissorhands

You can’t go wrong with a Tim Burton classic. Seeing the houses and the regular townsfolk (aside from the main characters) in this film would make me more appreciative of the island I’m on.

Star Trek: The Motion Picture

star trek

I should have at least one movie that takes place in outer space, and that movie should be the very first Star Trek film. Seeing the V’Ger cloud would remind that there’s much more than just the stars I see when I look up at the sky at night.

Anchorman

anchorman

I should have at least one comedy to watch, and that comedy should feature the legendary Ron Burgundy. The fight between the various newscasts alone is worth putting this film on this list. And then there’s the classic Ron Burgundy quotes.

Book:
20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne – I’ve seen the 1954 film adaptation, but I’ve never actually read the book it was based on. I figured a desert island would be the appropriate place to finally get a chance to read it.

Novelty item:
Rambo bowie knife – It may not help me get off the island, but I can at least use it for various other jobs. And just in case that polar bear from “Lost” shows up, I’ll have a handy weapon to defend myself.

page-divider 2

Thanks again to Filmscorehunter for taking the time to join the prestigious castaway list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to THIS LIST, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

page-divider 2

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Thanks again for doing this buddy. Funny answers and more importantly choosing Anchorman is always a winner in my book. Great choices 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Great feature. Been silently following this one and it led to some more great bloggers. Thanks!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Some nice wilderness choices in there, very apt 😉

    Like

    Reply
  4. Loving the whole “oh and that would remind me” approach!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Great choices! Many of which might be useful in some way or another, if not, some great entertainment 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  6. Some great (and surprising) choices, especially First Blood! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  7. Great to see Star Trek: The Motion Picture on a DI list.

    Like

    Reply
  8. garryarmstrong

     /  June 23, 2013

    Interesting list!! Love “Thief of Baghdad” selection. No, I didn’t see it first run.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Solid choices! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  10. Hey I picked the Rambo knife as my novelty item too! Let’s go kill some gorillas to make gloves out of!

    Like

    Reply
  11. theipc

     /  June 24, 2013

    HEY!!! You never hear anyone talk about The Edge!! In fact, you might be the only other person I know that’s seen it! Great choice(s)!!

    Like

    Reply
  12. Interesting choice to pick a “desert island film” about a desert island…that would freak me out but each to their own. Some great films in here especially Ed Scissorhands.

    Like

    Reply
  13. Good man with the re-post, thanks for the link 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  1. Desert Island Films #67: The Cinematic Frontier | THE CINEMATIC FRONTIER

Leave a Reply

  • RECENT POSTS :

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Daily Top 10 Most Viewed

  • Every Movie Reviewed A-Z

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Most Used Tags

  • Random Cool Sites

  • Meta