Desert Island Films #72 – The Cinema Monster

Desert Island Films

Joseph from The Cinema Monster has kindly submitted his Desert Island Films. Read on for his choices and reasons, and be sure to check out his site.

page-divider 2

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

page-divider 2

Desert Island Films – The Cinema Monster

d26a5d2186828a4b36fe975c21f0f60f

To start off I would just like to thank Tyson for not only letting me be apart of his Desert Island Films series, but also for his support of my blog essentially since its inception.

All right, 8 films I would take with me if I was to be stranded on an desert island. That is quite the loaded question. The approach I took to finding the answer was split into two major traits or necessities. The first and most important being repetition, then followed by the second which is personal favourites. Running through my massive movie collection, I managed to narrow my search down. After a long, arduous journey, I finally decided upon 8 films.

They are in no particular order.

1: Moon.

moonIt is extremely hard for me to name my all time favorite movie. But, gun to my head, I’d probably choose Moon. It met the criteria of my search and had the distinct advantage of holding a special place in my chest. Repetition was a no brainer. I could watch this movie day in, day out, no problem. What puts Moon over the top is its haunting atmosphere, an unmatched, outstanding performance from Sam Rockwell, and its deep messages as well as underlying themes. Evoking a sense of individuality, showcasing endless, unconditional love, and sparking my inner adventurer, Moon is the first film I’d watch in any situation.

2: On the Waterfront.

on the waterfront

With its terrific script, sublime direction, and what I believe to be Marlon Brando’s finest performance. On the Waterfront makes the list without question.

3: After Hours.

after hoursAnother obscure choice and a film many have never heard of is After Hours. Directed by Martin Scorsese, this brilliant take on romantic comedy is bizarre, endearing, and unsettling all at the same time.

4: Sunshine.

sunshine

Another film that has sentimental value to me. Sunshine is full of great performances from Cillian Murphy, Chris Evans, Rose Byrne, and countless others. Not to mention it is directed by one of my favorite directors Danny Boyle, who I believe is second only to Christopher Nolan. 

5: Wedding Crashers.

wedding crashers

We all need to laugh and being on a secluded island is no different. No film makes me chuckle more than Wedding Crashers. Having the upper hand on every single film on this list, Wedding Crashers holds sincere value to me and would allow me to feel as if I was home. 

6: Martyrs.

martyrs

I feel that being scared half to death is just as important as laughing till your body aches and you’re struggling to breathe, that’s why I chose Martyrs. The best, most perfect horror film I’ve seen to date makes the list without question. I could watch Martyrs everyday and it would make my bones tremble just as hard as the day before. Also, it is a rather ambiguous film, so it’d be fun to argue with myself for eternity on an isolated island.

7: Memento.

memento

This was my nostalgia choice. If it wasn’t for Christopher Nolan’s Memento, I wouldn’t be the cinephile I am today. This film singlehandedly drew me into the magnificent world of cinema and since then, I’ve never wanted to let go.

8: Badlands.

badlands

What I feel to be one of the most accurate, disheartening love story’s to ever be told and Terrence Malick’s best film. Badlands is visually beautiful, intelligent, and contains just the right amount of violence.

Book: On the Road by Jack Kerouac.

on the road

Inanimate Object: Photo Album

I’d take a photo album which seems to be the item of choice. Filled with pictures from every important person and event in my life. Oh, and my cat and dog.

page-divider 2

Thanks again to Joseph for taking the time to join the prestigious castaway list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to THIS LIST, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

page-divider 2

Leave a comment

32 Comments

  1. Moon AND Sunshine? Look here, a man after my own heart!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Thanks again for doing this Joseph, and the kind words. Been my pleasure 🙂

    Great choices here, but I especially love the Martyrs pick. One of my all time favourite movies. Well played 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • No problem. I sincerely thank you for letting me contributing my films and your constant support. Glad to hear you like Martyrs as much as I do, even though it scares me in a way I would never wish upon my worst enemy :).

      Like

      Reply
      • Mutual appreciation! My WordPress seems to be working better so Ill be more active on your site now too (and everyones, Ive been slacking through no fault of my own!)

        I reviewed Martyrs last year, might have to give it another push now a few more people visit me here. Everyone should watch it. And be terrified by it 🙂

        Like

        Reply
  3. Impressive and interesting selection. Also a particularly interesting choice of books. Most people I know don’t even know who Kerouac is 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • How can people not know about Kerouac?! One of the most important writers of his generation. On the Road is easily my favourite book, truly amazing. Glad you liked the list :).

      Like

      Reply
  4. You can never go wrong with Moon. Also, Martyrs is a fantastic choice!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Missed seeing (or hearing about Moon), will have to see it soonest. Sunshine is favorite of mine, nice to know someone else values it. Always lovely ideas here at Tyson’s Pub. 😉

    Like

    Reply
  6. All great choices, although I’m not sure I’d want to bring Martyrs with me! Once is enough!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Some superb choices! Moon, On The Waterfront and Memento in particular. Good work Joseph!

    Like

    Reply
  8. I can imagine watching Memento over and over again and always finding something I hadn’t before, great choice there!

    Like

    Reply
  9. theipc

     /  August 15, 2013

    Nice list, Joseph! Good stuff!

    Tyson – wow – 72 of these things! Amazing!

    Like

    Reply
  10. Great choices, Joe! I absolutely love Memento as well, and I really liked Sunshine!

    Like

    Reply
  11. GaryLee828

     /  August 17, 2013

    “Moon” and “On the Waterfront” are at the top of my to-see list; i didn’t think “Sunshine” looked good on the trailer, but I may consider giving that one a watch, as well.

    Like

    Reply
  12. Nice picks. Badlands and After Hours are two of my personal favorite movies.

    Like

    Reply
  13. Interesting choices. Knew Moon would be in there! I’ve always wanted to see After Hours & On The Waterfront. Love the music in Sunshine. But can’t stand the thought of being stuck on an island with Vince Vaughn & Owen Wilson… 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  14. Interesting choices. Not ones I would automatically go for bar one – that being the BRILLIANT and yet so underrated gem that is After Hours. That is one of my all-time middle-of-a-sleepless-night movie favorites along with the equally brilliant, and equally underrated John Landis flick Into The Night.

    Like

    Reply
  15. Some very interesting choices! I haven’t seen many of those on your list, so maybe I’d come along on the journey to expand my viewing horizons. Great job!

    Like

    Reply
  16. Ryan

     /  August 22, 2013

    Awesome to see some love for Moon(got to see that in the theater, well worth it!), After Hours(such an underrated, unjustifi-ingly little-known film that kicks so much ass…it may just be the homage to Bucket Of Blood for me though), and Sunshine, another film that deserved a larger audience, if only for Cillian Murphy’s greatness alone. In EVERYTHING he touches.

    Like

    Reply
  17. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

