Desert Island Films #79 – Coogs Film Blog

Desert Island Films

Tony from Coogs Film Blog has kindly submitted his Desert Island Films. Please read on for his choices and reasons, and then be sure to check out his site.

page-divider 2

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

page-divider 2

Desert Island Flicks

1. Aliens

Desert Island Flicks

Of course if I’m in this situation, I would have to pick my all time favourite film. The characters, the writing and the action in the film are all excellent topped off by one of the greatest performances ever given in a film by Sigourney Weaver.

2. The Shawshank Redemption

shawshank

This film is a great show of how well written and acted characters can elevate a film that shouldn’t work into a masterpiece. The work of Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins in this film is the best relationship I’ve ever seen on film and of course, Morgan Freeman’s narration is incredible.

3. Cloud Atlas

cloud atlas

This is a film I would watch whenever I need to see the power and beauty that film can show. Everything about Cloud Atlas is beautiful, the visuals, the story, even the small flaws make the film all the more incredible to watch. Plus, the multiple stories included in the film make it so I can never run out of new things to notice in the film.

4. Monty Python’s Life of Brian

life of brian

This is a film that I will take just to make me happy whenever I watch it. The brilliant quality of the jokes make me laugh every time I watch it and whenever I feel depressed, this film helps me to Always Look On The Bright Side of Life

5. The Avengers

avengers

I knew that before I started that I would have to include a Joss Whedon film on here and it was a tough choice between this and Serenity. This won out just because of the sheer ambition involved in the undertaking of this film. All the different elements of this film shouldn’t work but under Whedon’s guiding hand it all does. Plus, I could never get bored of the Puny God bit.

6. The Dark Knight

dark knight

I also knew that I had to take a film by my all time favourite director, Christopher Nolan and there is no better Nolan film to take than The Dark Knight. This film will help to remind me how big-budget blockbusters do not need to be stupid in order to be successful and the performance by Heath Ledger is so mesmerising that I will be captivated for days watching it.

7. Kick-Ass

kick ass

Now I sometimes want a good bit of violent fun and it was tough between putting this film or a Tarantino film on here with this winning out because of the brilliant performances and chemistry between Chloe Moretz and Nicolas Cage along with the brilliant staging of the action, mainly every single Hit Girl scene.

8. In The Loop

in the loop

Now it was a tough choice for this last film between this and Shaun of the Dead and this just edged out for one reason. Peter Capaldi. His delivery of Armando Ianucci’s excellent dialogue is perfect and helps make the film so funny, along with the incompetence of all the characters. A perfect show of why it would be best not to leave the island if politicians can be this stupid. (To those who don’t believe me as to how stupid politicians can be, look up the Pasty Tax)

Honourable Mentions: The Wicker Man, Hugo, The Angel’s Share, Fargo, Up, Sightseers, Citizen Kane, 12 Angry Men, Across the Universe

Book Here Comes Trouble by Michael Moore

book

Now it was a tough choice between this, A Game of Thrones by George RR Martin and It’s Only A Movie by Mark Kermode and this beats those out for two reasons. 1: it appeals to the left-wing political side of me and 2: there is such a wide variety of stories in the book that I will never get bored reading it.

ObjectBarbeque

bbq

Well I need something to cook the food on the island on don’t I and since all I need to power this is a few bits of tree for the fire this would be the perfect device.

page-divider 2

Thanks again to Tony for taking the time to join the prestigious castaway list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to THIS LIST, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

page-divider 2

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Wonderful to read another DI list with Aliens on it :-).

    Like

    Reply
  2. theipc

     /  October 9, 2013

    Nice to see Kick Ass show up on another DI list!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. You can make your own island grill out of monkey teeth.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Good choices!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Abbi

     /  October 9, 2013

    Great list! And a genius object!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Good list. I like the idea of honourable mentions but I’m surprised to see The Wicker Man on there. Isn’t that one a little painful to re-watch?

    Like

    Reply
  7. Awesome list! Love to see the two of my fave Marvel n DC flicks on here, AND Shawshank Redemption, too!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Thanks again for doing this Tony. Nice random choices, Cloud Atlas, wow, first time I’ve seen that selected here 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  9. Very nice list of films. I just watched The Life of Brian again last week. One of the all-time funniest movies.

    Like

    Reply
  10. What an interesting list! I like most these movies, though I’m not sure they are the ones I’d take with me to an island … but then again … my opinion of what I’d want with me keeps changing almost minute by minute, depending on my mood 🙂 I am so fickle.

    Like

    Reply
  11. In the Loop and Cloud Atlas.. both incredible entries!

    Like

    Reply
  12. Aliens and Cloud Atlas? Hell, yes!!!

    Like

    Reply
  13. Great choices, have to see cloud atlas though but the rest are great ones to have on the island.

    Like

    Reply
  14. gregory moss

     /  October 13, 2013

    Great to see Cloud Atlas in the mix … 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  15. Great choices! 🙂 Aliens & Shawshank were also on my list. Love ’em! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • RECENT POSTS :

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Daily Top 10 Most Viewed

  • Every Movie Reviewed A-Z

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Most Used Tags

  • Random Cool Sites

  • Meta