You Jivin’ Me, Turkey? – Desert Island Films

 

Brad from You Jivin’ Me, Turkey? has kindly submitted his Desert Island Films. Read on for his choices and reasons, and be sure to check out his site, Fo SHO!! 🙂

*************************************************************************************************

Desert Island Films is about choosing 8 films you would take if you were going to be stranded on a desert island and explaining your choices. They don’t necessarily have to be your favourites, just 8 films, no more or no less! You are also permitted to take one book and one novelty item which must be inanimate and of no use in escaping the island or allowing communication from outside.

*************************************************************************************************

You Jivin’ Me, Turkey? – Desert Island Films

(#1) “KRULL”

This Selection Was Easiest, As It’s My Favorite Flick Of ALL-TIME. I’m A Huge Fan Of Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Action/Adventure Flicks, And This One Is All Of That. It’s Also (likely) The Most FUN Flick I’ve Ever Had The Pleasure Of Watching Over And Over Again. In The Annals Of Film-Making, “KRULL” Always Has Been, And (likely) Always Will Be My Favorite Flick. Period.

(#2) “BIG TROUBLE IN LITTLE CHINA”

big trouble in little china

I Would Want This One For One Special Reason (other than its being my favorite John Carpenter flick) And That Would Be Because Of My Nephew. I Love The Little Guy To Pieces, And When We’re Together, This Is Generally What We End-Up Watching. It’s His Favorite Flick, And It’s Certainly One Of Mine. Period.

(#3) “SERENITY”

I Was/Am A Huge Fan Of The Series “Firefly” But “SERENITY” Is Truly A Remarkable Little Flick. They Said They Just Wanted To Give “Firefly” Some Closure, And By Golly Did They Ever Do It. “SERENITY” Is Another All-Time-Fave, And The Best Flick EVER To Come From First Being An Original TV Series. Period.

(#4) “THE NATURAL”

This Is Coming Along Because BASEBALL Is MY GAME And I Love It Dearly. I’d Want Something To Remind Me Of The Greatest Game In The History Of Civilization, And One Would Be Hard Pressed To Find A Baseball Flick Better Than Ole Robert Redford As Roy Hobbs “THE NATURAL”. Period.

(#5) “THE SHINING”

Everyone Has Their Favorite Horror Flick. Plain And Simple, “THE SHINING” Is The Very Best From A Personal Favorite Director, Stanley Kubrick. Gotta Be Able To Get My Scare On, Ya Know?! Sure You Do. Period.

(#6) “ONCE UPON A TIME IN THE WEST”

In My Humble (yet not so humble) Opinion, “ONCE UPON A TIME IN THE WEST” Is By Far Far FAR The Greatest Western Flick EVER MADE. Charles Bronson As The Good Guy Is Great, But It’s Henry Fonda As The Evil, Psychotic “Frank” That Truly Makes It All Gel. It’s Sergio Leone’s MASTERPIECE. Period.

(#7) “THE PINK PANTHER STRIKES AGAIN”

To Me, This One Is THE FUNNIEST COMEDY Ever Made. I’m A Huge Fan Of Peter Sellers, And While I Know “DR. STRANGELOVE” Is His Finest Film, This One Remains His Funniest Flick Ever. Gotta Be Able To Have A Decent Laugh On This Loverly Desert Island, Ya Know Ya Know?!
Great. Glad We Can Agree There. Period.

(#8) “STAR TREK II: THE WRATH OF KHAN”

I’m A TREK GEEK, And This One Is My Favorite TREK Flick EVER EVER! It Simply Doesn’t Get Any Better Than This One When Discussing TREK Lore. I Love It LOVE IT. Period.

The ONE BOOK: “THE HOUND OF THE BASKERVILLES” by A. CONAN DOYLE —

I’m Bringing This One Because It’s Always Been My Favorite Story. I Read It The First Time At Age 6 Or 7, And Was Hooked Immediately. To This Day, It Remains My Favorite Story, So I’m Guessing It May Likely Be That Way Forever. WE SHALL SEE. Period.

The ONE THING: I’d Take My Watch. It’s A Swiss Army Special, And I’ve Had It Since 2000, When I Bought It For Myself As A “Pat-On-The-Back” Gift For Making Petty-Officer 3RD-Class, While In The Navy. I’d Be Lost Without My Watch, As I’m A Stickler For Being Punctual, And I Have A Sick-Obsession With Always Knowing What Time It Is, Even When I Have Nowhere To Be, Nor Nothing Going On. 🙂 Period.

*************************************************************************************************

Thanks again to Brad for taking the time to join the prestigious Head In A Vice ”castaway” list. If you would like to submit your choices and add your name to this list, please drop me an email to – tysoncarter@hotmail.co.uk

*************************************************************************************************

Previous Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Good choices their. I’m with you on the pick of Star Trek movie too.

    Like

    Reply
  2. truemistersix

     /  October 13, 2012

    You can’t stop the signal…

    Like

    Reply
  3. Thanks again Brad, great list Fo Sho!!

    Krull is one of the first films I actually saw, and The Shining is the greatest horror movie of all time.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Nice choices Brad. Especially agree with your love of Kubrick. He’s my favorite director as well.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Well, The Natural is up there on Garry’s list … Pink Panther II is up there on mine. I favor Star Trek IV but I like this one also. Good list. GREAT book. You should get to take the whole series. It’s only fair!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Victor De Leon

     /  October 14, 2012

    Incredible list, Brad! Some of my favorite movies there and HOTB is my favorite Sherlock Holmes novel. Well done, man!

    Like

    Reply
  7. I’ve only seen “Serenity” and “The Shining”…I like your luxury choice though – I am obsessed with punctuality!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Reblogged this on "You Jivin' Me, Turkey?" and commented:
    A Reblog In This Situation Simply FELT Like The Right Move. Wouldn’t You Tend To Agree?! SURE YOU WOULD!!! 😀
    -BRAD

    Like

    Reply
  9. theipc

     /  October 14, 2012

    Excellent list Brad!

    Like

    Reply
  10. atothewr

     /  October 15, 2012

    Number 2 and 3 for sure. Nice choices. I love The Big China poster. I would love to have that for my wall.

    Like

    Reply
  11. This List Was A Blast Trying To Figure Out.
    I’m Glad So Many Of Y’all Have Enjoyed It Thus Far!
    Boy I Sure Did! hehehehe
    Thanks For All The Sweet-Sweet Lovin’, My Peeps!!!
    -BRAD

    Like

    Reply
  12. Awesome. Nice picks, fo sho!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

